1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Suggestions and requests

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Sep 20, 2011.

  1. VGL

    VGL Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2,052
    Location:
    Iran,tehran
    Go and see for yourself
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Safavid_dynasty
     
  2. morff

    morff Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    203
    Did you ever considered implementing bigger earth map?
     
  3. BenZL43

    BenZL43 awkward cat

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Performance issues, I think
     
  4. ales_

    ales_ Heir

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toulouse, France
    It would be very difficult to draw it, place resources, update all city name, war maps etc.
     
  5. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,837
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Yes, I had nightmares for roughly a week.
     
  6. migck

    migck Señor de la guerra

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    When I'm sick with fever I tend to have nightmares in which the bedsheets become too big for me to handle... ok that probably has nothing to do with the matter at hand.

    Something more sensible. Independents can spawn great people with the default GP name lists. Perhaps it would be a good idea to remove those name lists from the default GP unit entries (except great spies, which the independents can't spawn anyway) so it isn't too immersion breaking when the event notifier informs of one of them spawning (ie. it will just say 'Great General has been born at...' instead of 'Vercingetorix/Chandragupta Maurya has been born at...'), either that or forbid all kinds of great people from spawning for them like for barbarians, but that would weaken eg. Jerusalem.

    Also, may I suggest changing the marsh terrain with the art assets from this?
     
  7. Terxpahseyton

    Terxpahseyton Master and Apprentice of the 8 Winds

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,313
    Gender:
    Male
    Not really. Caveman2Cosmos introduced multi-threading, that could easily eliminate crashes because of video ram overload. Have tested it myself. Turn times still would be rather long, of course.

    I personally actually dream of RFC-DoC being implemented on a giant Earth Map. It would be awesoome. But I suppose a ton of a work.
     
  8. morff

    morff Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    203
    Well, i think it wouldn't be hard to select the right map (there is few decent bigger maps used in other mods), and then change the coords in the code. But i'm not modder, so i don't know how hard would actually be to support 2 sets of coords (for the current map and the bigger map), or if it's even possible (but pretty much anything is possible :) ).
     
  9. migck

    migck Señor de la guerra

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Each civ has two pairs of settler and war maps defined in the code, they are written like an excel matrix with a historical value for EACH tile. Just trying to change each of them to a bigger map is probably nightmare-inducing like Leoreth said. Not to mention the myriad bits of dll and python code targeting specific tiles.
    Anything is possible, but there's only so much a human can put up with before saying "screw it".
     
  10. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3,115
    Location:
    Canada
    And then imagine the horror of trying to balance that monster.
     
  11. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,837
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Did they really? Or are you referring to the viewport feature?

    Most of the code assumes the same underlying map, so supporting two different sizes would require even more work.

    I also haven't seen a decent world map other than Rhye's that features a sane projection (Robinson) and enlarged Europe.
     
  12. migck

    migck Señor de la guerra

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    What's with Vikings having the Greenland coast as a historical area, but it being impossible to settle due to being all snow? There's even names in the CNM for it, which sadly won't see any use.

    In case it's open to suggestions: I know that historically their settlements there eventually failed, but the same can be said of Vinland. My suggestion would be for their historical area there to start as grassland ("green"land southern coast apparently was warmer than usual during the 800 - 1300 AD period), place some forests and maybe some food bonuses there, then after a certain date (1300?) they turn to tundra, and later to snow if we want things to get cool.

    Here's a possible redesign of the area:
    Spoiler :



    Another suggestion: preventing independents and natives from popping goody huts, like barbarians. In the 600AD scenario, a scout from the Maya cities usually takes the ones in both Americas before anyone can get to them.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Royal Tenenbaum

    Royal Tenenbaum Exiled

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,738
     
  14. migck

    migck Señor de la guerra

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Hehe, I should have guessed I'm not the first to propose such a change. Your changes are probably better researched, I just went with 'what would be nice there...'
     
  15. zanuda

    zanuda Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Hello! I have a question
    How soon will introduce new technology and that game really could end 20 century
     
  16. youtien

    youtien Lyricist

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,313
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Taipei
    Thai UP is useless. AI seldom has more than 4 units, and as human player, I'd rather choose theocracy for XP and republic later.

    Thai strategy: theocracy / merc first, buy an army to conquer Khmer, Indonesia and China, then all is well.
     
  17. ales_

    ales_ Heir

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toulouse, France
    Can you remind, please, what the Thai UP is?
     
  18. Fresol

    Fresol Angry Halfling in Green

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,195
    Can use up to 8 stationed military units to generate happiness. Rather useless indeed.

    My suggestion for modification: each stationed military unit generates 2:).
     
  19. youtien

    youtien Lyricist

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,313
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Taipei
    French UP is overpowered, it neglects any flip, just refuse flip and make peace.

    How to destroy Dutch: prepare a settler, settle it in Dutch core in 1580, the turn they spawn, make them unable to found a city , then refuse the flip and make peace.
     
  20. The Diocletian

    The Diocletian Fire Fly

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,421
    Location:
    Birthplace of Aviation
    Wow, I already thought their UP was already extremely overpowered, but the ability to just ignore flips is just degenerate.
     

Share This Page