1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Dawn of Civilization - an RFC modmod by Leoreth

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Apr 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jammerculture

    jammerculture Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Canada
    I almost didn't post this in fear it would cause The Turks head to explode...... :crazyeye:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,321
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Also worth a thought ...

    Well, currently, I've even disabled Hattusas because they were screwing up the lategame, but now it seems this is what started the Babylonian mess. I've tried to implement the Hittites by swordsmen spawns instead, but that didn't seem to work (?). Maybe I'll have to revisit it again.

    But can't Copenhagen reach a pig in Scania somewhere? Or do you want to keep that one for Stockholm? The reason why I didn't make the fish accessible for Copenhagen is that then it would end up in Hamburg's cross most of the time.

    See, I'm not trying to win argument here, I'm honestly trying to remember how the map looks. So an edited screen would help a lot :)
     
  3. The Turk

    The Turk Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,210
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    When are the VD units for DoC going to be ready, because the lack of cool unique units (and the disregard for Confucianism) are the only two things which are keeping me from playing regular RFC. So please spare us from European-Chinese Footmen, its starting to look pretty bad ;)
     
  4. jammerculture

    jammerculture Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Canada
    hmm perhaps a single geological formation can make a pair of avians extinct....

    a Hittite city to contain Babylon, which later flips to Persia, in a location that makes a decent byzantine city in the event that it survives.....
     
  5. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    Why do you hate me Leoreth?
     
  6. Gruekiller

    Gruekiller Back From The Beyond

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,366
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Ohio
    Carchemish?
     
  7. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,321
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Why don't you do it yourself? ;)

    If you would've taken a look into the first post, it's filed under "later features", so you can't expect any work on it soon. Your greatest hope currently is that edead takes up his ambitions to do this again.

    Because you're a papist ;) (just kidding :D)

    British Nigeria is noted, in case you're referring to that. I just didn't see anything meaningful I could respond to that suggestion.
     
  8. Torterra275

    Torterra275 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    NYC
    I Put this into my mods folder and when i load it up ingame for scenarios the only new one i have is WBQUICKSAVE i open i and it crashes as soon i select a civ
     
  9. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,321
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    You can't open the scenarios from the BtS main menu, go Advanced > Mods > RFC Dawn of Civilization first instead.
     
  10. jammerculture

    jammerculture Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Canada
    "C:\Program Files\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Civ4BeyondSword.exe" mod= mods\RFC Dawn of Civilization

    This shortcut launches my DOC


    On Persian anatolian city, I spent some time looking at various maps of the Achaeminid (sp??), Byzantine, Roman and prehistoric anatolia looking for a common region that was important to all the time frames and is a good city site in the map. the only important Persian city that I find mentioned often is Sardis which would be most realistically placed on the hill 1 SE of the sheep, later Smyrna. This city site sucks though and should never be spoken of again.

    In central anatolia, there is the the tile 1 N of the peak, which is Iconium in the 600AD Byzantine map. This tile "could" be a barabarian Gordium, later Ankyra but it's a bit of a stretch. Or Kanes > Kayseri

    Which you consider naming a city for a province, i.e. Persian Phrygia? maybe 1S of marble? I guess we could stretch and name that Sardis as well, but what about the later/earlier civs?

    You could always just re-enable barb cities in the area and have it be part of the Persian flip zone which could give you Hattusas or Gordion but I'm not really sure what Persian cities to make them


    Anatolia is the worst designed part of this map, which is probably why it keeps causing problems lol
     
  11. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,321
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    That's what I'd currently favor too. Independent Sfard from, say, 1000 AD to represent Lydia, flips to AI Persia on spawn if not conquered by Greece. Later civs will probably have to live with that crappy city, but I can increase the probability for it to get razed so that it doesn't mess up every game.

    Yeah, Rhye should've applied the Europe enlargement here too, considering how important Anatolia was through history, but I guess he had to put a stop to it somewhere.
     
  12. AdrienIer

    AdrienIer Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Paris
    Actually couldn't the peak be replaced by a hill ? I know that it's a montainious region, but there were some cities there in the middle ages like Antalya.
     
  13. AOS9001

    AOS9001 Slightly over 9000.

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    733
    RFC on the Giant Earth Map... It'd be like a dream come true. A dream that takes 5 minutes to change turns and crashes my computer every 3 of those turns, but it'd be amazing.
     
  14. Gruekiller

    Gruekiller Back From The Beyond

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,366
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Ohio
    Indeed. And with, say, a 50 civs DLL, and with every major gameplay mod and RFC mod-mod added in, it would be the most perfect thing ever. Now I've made myself sad because I know that it'll never happen. :(
     
  15. jammerculture

    jammerculture Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Canada
    Don't say never, now that the shuttle program is shut down maybe NASA would let us borrow some computers........


    i have thought about removing that peak as well as adding a tile 2 S of sheep where Hallicarnassus would be. It would be within athens culture zone and if the Greeks could be enticed to settle it, and it later flipped to the Persians, then that would guarantee war between the two.
     
  16. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,321
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    You really don't want to use the computers the NASA was running.

    I guess my cellphone is more sophisticated than the Space Shuttle's board computer :lol:
     
  17. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    Okay Jerry
    I found the machine for it
    i7-2600K @4.5GHz
    16GB RAM @1866MHz
    2xRadeon 6990
    for $4,819
    Pimpin yo
     
  18. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,321
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Bad idea. The i7-2600k is quadcore and Civ4 isn't multicore capable, returning your nominal tact frequence to 1.125 GHz. And it's CPU that counts.
     
  19. J. pride

    J. pride King

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    Any release dates for 1.8 (or is it 1.72)? And wat changes can we expect?
     
  20. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,321
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    It's 1.72 first, that's the current changelog:
    Spoiler :
    # excluded Sirajis from Arabian flip
    # part of the Arabian units and settlers spawn in Baghdad and Cairo
    # AI Arabian capital gets moved to Cairo or Baghdad in 650 AD
    # extended the Russian historical area to the Ukraine to encourage the conquest of Kiev
    # changed the Roman UP so that units can't spawn on islands anymore
    # Byzantium now only spawns when Greece is dead or Rome controls at least one city in its core
    # Italy now only spawns when at least half of the Italian cities are independent (usually either Rome or Venice not conquered yet)
    # Former city garrisons get pushed out before they flip to Italy to avoid that they become a military power
    # reduced the probability of 600 AD preplaced cities to get razed
    # changed Abu Bakr's personality to focus on science as well

    I intend to fix all current bugs before I start working on 1.8 stuff, also I'm tinkering with the rebirth mechanism a little (influencing the Italians), will update the Roman, Arabian and Italian UHVs, and do some Persian and Turkish balance.

    The bugfixing part is the nastiest, so I started with it first. I'm currently working on unique GP names and using the opportunity to do some additional research on them (right chronology and filling up sparse/empty lists).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page