1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

New Tech Tree Playtesting + Feedback

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Oct 8, 2016.

  1. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    As always, the game is balanced around Regent. If the tech speed isn't working for that, then the game needs more adjustments.
     
  2. mrrandomplayer

    mrrandomplayer Hopeless Situation Warrior

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,319
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The land of prequel memes
    India seems to be teching kinda slow, maybe give them more starting techs or an extra settler?
     
  3. soul-breathing

    soul-breathing King

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Hangzhou,China PR
    I feel the initial workers for America and Brazil are too few, especially for America. Either 600ad or 1700ad scenerio, the core area of America is undeveloped, 4 workers is obviously too few for America. Could the number of initial workers be linked with the number of improvements in America core area, when America appears in 1774ad?
     
  4. Malchar

    Malchar Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Saint Paul, Minnesota
    Perhaps the number of workers should be proportional to the number of settlers received + cities flipped? I feel like the danger of giving too few workers is much greater than the danger of giving too many. Even with a lot of workers, it will still take a considerable amount of time to improve a whole city from nothing.
     
  5. soul-breathing

    soul-breathing King

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Hangzhou,China PR
    Yes, giving too many workers, you can simply delete them, when America appears, it needs 8 workers at least.
     
  6. Hamir

    Hamir Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    London, England
    Noooooo why
     
    Imp. Knoedel likes this.
  7. FinalLegendZero

    FinalLegendZero Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    534
    I did some poking around the stability files to see what the specific bonuses and penalties for specific combinations are, and I stumbled across a problem. Currently, the bonuses for Despotism says that it gets a bonus for being run alongside the civic "Nationalism", which doesn't exist. I'm assuming this is supposed to be Nationhood.
     
    need my speed and Tigranes like this.
  8. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    That's thorough checking, and something i wouldn't have noticed otherwise. Thanks for reporting, I'll fix it soon.
     
  9. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,713
    I understand that Harappa is optional civ and therefor not a priority, but when in game they almost always build Pyramids which obviously dissapear after scripted collapse. Meaning one of the few World Wonders that survived to our days gets destroyed without trace in 1000s BC. Can we somehow discourage them from building 'Mids?
     
    1SDAN likes this.
  10. Ogi123

    Ogi123 The End is the Beginning is the End

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Location:
    Somwhere in time
    Plague is now destroying/reducing town improvement line. In previous versions it reduced it once per title during whole plague, now is once per turn. This makes cottage economy basically impossible. In conjunction with new citizenship/republic civics and additional unhappy/unhealthy from village and town, specialist economy rules supreme.
    Since I have done some warmongering I have noted that some units are useless.
    Light swordsman is more expensive than spear and have only 25% bonus against it, also it obsoletes really quickly. It could be removed without problems.
    Catapult is still to strong in the field, it should be 3str with 100% city attack bonus.
    It would much more interesting if skirmish line lost hills attack bonus but gained "this unit ignores terrain defence bonuses". I'm also doubting necessity of collateral damage.
    Grenadier as continuation of skirmish line is really weird, historically accurate unit would be some kind of light infantry akin to chasseurs/voltigeurs.
    Now we have to much cavalry, who obsoletes way to fast. HA obsoletes horseman who in turn is obsolete by knight etc.
    Cavalry should be split into two lines shock and missile cav/gunpowder. Something like HA(s6)->HeavyHA(s8)->Pistoleers(s10)->Dragoon(s12). All benefit from stable, have 1 first strike, withdrawal chance and aren't mounted so they can kill spear line. Perhaps even 3 movement?
    Heavy swordsman should lose melee bonus and gain sword bonus +10% vs cities.
    I still think that Spear line should be spear(s5)->heavy spear(s7)->pike(s9) with +50% vs mounted.
    By the same logic Arqebus should be s10.
    Rename Arquebus to Musketman, and Musketman to Fusilier?
     
  11. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Balance comments noted, and will look into a better plague implementation. I only brought back the old plague code though, not sure why the behaviour is so weird.

    As for cavalry, the upgrade lines should already reflect light and heavy cavalry as you suggest, that is the intent behind those units. Don't worry, I have plans to differentiate them further, including different unit combat types.
     
  12. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    New update: workers limited to one per city (counter shared by all noncombat units that have a work rate).
     
  13. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Thoughts on slave units with regard to the new Slavery and Colonialism civics:
     
    Imp. Knoedel and 1SDAN like this.
  14. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    New update:
    - fixed reference to Nationalism in stability code to reference Nationhood instead
    - fixed a bug that caused you to lose the free tech effect if you reload the turn you received it
    - changed Citizenship: removed +1 happiness per specialist, added +2 happiness in largest cities
    - changed Elective: removed +3 happiness in largest cities, added +1 wealth per specialist, +2 commerce for Camp, Pasture
    - changed Democracy: added +1 happiness per specialist
    - increased Despotism upkeep to Medium
     
  15. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    I think now is a good a time as any to merge the hrtechs branch back into develop. I'm probably going to do it at some point during the next weekend, just so people can anticipate with starting new games etc. Note that the new merged develop branch will probably be compatible with neither the current develop branch nor the current hrtechs branch. I will create appropriate tags before the merge so you can stick to that state and continue your games if you want though.
     
  16. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Rebased the branch against develop. Updating requires a force pull, or deleting and fetching the branch again. Saves are not compatible, but there is a hrtechs-before-merge tag than you can check out to continue your current saves (or simply do not update at all).
     
    DarkLunaPhantom likes this.
  17. mrrandomplayer

    mrrandomplayer Hopeless Situation Warrior

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,319
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The land of prequel memes
    Why is there a limit on workers? It seems pretty arbitrary.
     
  18. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,713
    To make Slaves more useful, I guess?
     
  19. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,953
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Also to limit overall improvement speed within your empire. Since space is more limited in RFC, I'm trying several ways of extending the period until all your empire is improved.
     
  20. mrrandomplayer

    mrrandomplayer Hopeless Situation Warrior

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,319
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The land of prequel memes
    Where do I disable this worker limit? I personally think for small civs the time required to improve the empire will be short anyways and for most larger empire barbs and near-constant warfare in the late game make this unnecessary.
     

Share This Page