1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

New Tech Tree Playtesting + Feedback

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Oct 8, 2016.

  1. soul-breathing

    soul-breathing Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    Hangzhou,China PR
    the 11st here.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Leoreth

    Leoreth Knight of Time Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    28,109
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Land of Heat and Clockwork
    Okay, that helps. I'll try to reproduce the problem, as it does not seem to happen in every game.
     
  3. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    With the latest update to Babylon, does anyone have any idea on beating it's Tech UHV? Greek keeps beating me to construction again.
     
  4. Sarius1997

    Sarius1997 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    Germany
    Small balance problem (though not sure if it was just a fluke). Over my last games it took ages for Buddhism to be founded, to be precise, it only spawned with Tibet building their first city.
     
  5. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    So far I've figured out a way to get four turns away from Construction as Babylon, but I've yet to reach it before Greece.
     
  6. ales_

    ales_ Heir

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,536
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Minsk, Bielaru┼Ť
    Can you show the pagan religion on the scoreboard?
     
  7. Leoreth

    Leoreth Knight of Time Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    28,109
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Land of Heat and Clockwork
    I don't know yet, there may not be enough space left in the font map.
     
  8. Leoreth

    Leoreth Knight of Time Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    28,109
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Land of Heat and Clockwork
    New updates:
    - added custom pagan temples for unique pagan religions
    - corrected display for no state religion with Secularism
    - corrected Estate graphics size
    - fixed a C++ exception (commonly occured on game start, should take care of the recent reports but I will still verify them)
     
  9. soul-breathing

    soul-breathing Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    Hangzhou,China PR
    Now 1700ad scenerio is fine, at least at the very beginning. But Leo, why Qing governmet civic is Despotism at 1700ad? Shouldn't be Monarchy?
    Anyway, I think Despotism is more powerful than Monarchy...

    And Vedic Temple has no icon, when you choose to build it, the game will crash and exit automatically.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2017
  10. Leoreth

    Leoreth Knight of Time Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    28,109
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Land of Heat and Clockwork
    New updates:
    - fixed buttons for pagan temples
    - fixed tech buttons for religion founding techs
    - civs with state religion also dislike civs without state religion (penalty reduced by 50%)
    - new Catholicism icon
    - some promotions require technologies (Generalship -> Formation, Seafaring -> Amphibious, Medicine -> Medic I, Logistics -> Medic III)
     
    ales_ and Imp. Knoedel like this.
  11. mrrandomplayer

    mrrandomplayer Potentially back

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,294
    Location:
    A point in the time-space continuum
    Whenever I try to update the git, I get this:

    "Automatic merge failed; fix conflicts and then commit the result.
    warning: Cannot merge binary files: Assets/CvGameCoreDLL.dll (HEAD vs. 505136018a2c4f55c12817ffa7a2fb14d2b4aca4)"

    What should I do about that?
     
  12. Leoreth

    Leoreth Knight of Time Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    28,109
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Land of Heat and Clockwork
    Have you compiled a new DLL?

    Easiest fix: delete the file that is mentioned as in conflict, and try again.
     
  13. mrrandomplayer

    mrrandomplayer Potentially back

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,294
    Location:
    A point in the time-space continuum
    Everything's good, I just screwed up the sync. Has the "AI only-collapse-to-core" feature been merged into this branch?
     
  14. Leoreth

    Leoreth Knight of Time Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    28,109
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Land of Heat and Clockwork
    No, it's not in yet.
     
  15. Leoreth

    Leoreth Knight of Time Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    28,109
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Land of Heat and Clockwork
    New update: pagan religions are displayed in the scoreboard.
     
    ales_ likes this.
  16. soul-breathing

    soul-breathing Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    Hangzhou,China PR
    Druid pagan temple icon missed, and can't be built.

    Spoiler :
     
  17. soul-breathing

    soul-breathing Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    Hangzhou,China PR
    Also two suggestions about new civic system:
    1. Buff Democracy, +1 free specialist per city, change civics only take at most one turn of anarchy.
    2. Buff Isolationism, +1 specialist in core cities, no foreign trade, +0.5 production(or culture/food/health) per military unit stationed in a city(max: +4), the upkeep could turn to high.
     
  18. Lokki242

    Lokki242 El Presidente

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    702
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Quick question, just because I'm unclear on how to use GIT. Why do I have to fetch before Switching/Checkout? Is there a reason I can't just go straight to that while switching to this branch?
     
  19. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,330
    Can you please give very approximate estimate -- when will you finally merge both branches?
     
  20. Leoreth

    Leoreth Knight of Time Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    28,109
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Land of Heat and Clockwork
    For democracy, I'm not sure if that's actually appropriate, because you could also argue that democracy requires institutional stability and some consistency in how things work. Gameplay wise, I think it's already quite strong.

    I do like the idea behind isolationism though, more so even than the current +1 specialist. Let me think about it.

    What fetch does is to update your local git program with all the branches that exist in the online repository. If you have installed git or cloned the mod repo after the hrtechs branch was created, the step isn't required anymore. But the guide was also written with the people in mind who had git before the branch was created, and those would have to run fetch once so their git instance would become aware of the new branch. If you have already run it once, or only recently cloned the repo, you can skip the step without issues.

    Not sure to be honest. The main reason for keeping it split was to have the inclusion of the new tech tree and all the new units, buildings, civics etc. done before making it the develop state, but since the new civics are in now that is basically done.

    I have a couple of things planned that I want to do before we get close to 1.15 release, which would be the feature freeze phase where I do my own playtesting and balancing. That includes:
    - some changes to workers, improvements and slaves
    - some changes to unit types, their interaction and unit upgrades
    - culture level effects and their relationship to wonders and national wonders
    - finishing the (mostly aesthetic) religion stuff I'm currently working on

    But all of these could also be done in develop. What does everyone think? Should I keep it separate for longer, or merge as soon as possible?

    (In any case, before I merge I will create a tag for the develop state before the merge, so you can stick to it if you want.)
     

Share This Page