1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Quick Questions and Answers

  1. Ostelen56

    Ostelen56 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2020
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    How is it useful ? Have the longest trade routes a better income ?

    What is the interest of this system ?
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2020
    Knightfall likes this.
  2. Ticio

    Ticio Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    186
    Gender:
    Male
    If you have Hunza yes (+1 gold for every 5 tiles), it could be good too if you have a very long commercial route and the trader goes through a lot of commercial posts (+1 gold each).

    Apart of that, I do not know more advantages...

    Disvantages are that the routes are more vulnerable (barbarians, enemy pillaging, etc.) and it takes many turns to finish (longer as the world eras advance).
     
    Knightfall likes this.
  3. Ostelen56

    Ostelen56 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2020
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    Can we escort a trade cart with a military unit ?

    Can we make a naval trade road through a city that has no docks but that is on the coast ? (using water tiles for movement)
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2020
    Knightfall likes this.
  4. Ticio

    Ticio Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    186
    Gender:
    Male
    1) Not like with builders and settlers (pressing the button), but you can defend them moving a military unit to the same tile. Is a little difficult, as the trader will move at the end of the turn, so you have to send your military unit to the next tile.
    The best idea is to send a unit before the trader to check for enemy encampments.

    2) Yes you can! You need the city to be adjacent to a water tile, if not you will have to wait until you build a port.

    3) Yes! I did the experiment some weeks ago and you can trade through water with cities adjacent to water tiles even without port.
    You can also trade with cities that are inland but have a port not adjacent to the city (a city in land but with a port 3 tiles away)
     
    Knightfall likes this.
  5. hhhhhh

    hhhhhh Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2020
    Messages:
    414
    If a slinger attack a scout, and the player who own the scout has the x2 XP policy, how much XP does the scout get?

    I'm aware of this guide but I'm not sure if I should use the ranged strength of the slinger. So it seems to be (15/10 + 1) * 2 = 5 XP? Can anyone confirm?

    EDIT: I just experimented it seems to get 6 XP in this case. Why?
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2020
    Knightfall likes this.
  6. Ostelen56

    Ostelen56 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2020
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    What is an artillery corps ? Is it a promotion for artillery ?

    Here the word corps again.
     
    Knightfall likes this.
  7. Time Tested

    Time Tested Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    Question about alliances - if I switch the type, does the alliance level reset? e.g. I have a Level 2 economic alliance. When I renew the alliance (same civ), I choose Cultural Alliance. Is my new alliance Level 2, or is it back to Level 1 because it's a new alliance type?
     
  8. MrRadar

    MrRadar Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,462
    Goodness me, I wasn't even aware of the added time, now I checked, and it seems right - in my current game a Modern Atomic era route to a destination 12 tiles away of an actual trip took 48 turns to complete, as min duration was 21+20=41, so the trader made two complete journeys 24 turns each for the total of 48>41. I thought there was something strange with the routes late game, but never bothered to check them past early eras, as the game UI gives no such information. And it is like that since GS, apparently. O, man...



    I don't know as to the why, it kinda pushes you to seek further and further destinations, and as later turns represent less years per turn, it may be seen as some sort of scaling, or maybe just to diminish the number of decision spam. Late game there are plenty of insignificant clicks anyway, no need to add more for trade routes.

    There's a mod in the Steam workshop, Better Trade Screen, which supposedly gives more accurate information, I haven't used it in a while, but judging from the comments it works.
     
    Ticio likes this.
  9. MrRadar

    MrRadar Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,462
    No, nothing is lost, the level and points are kept, you can change and swap them as you need.

    Edit: meaning, your alliance level is tied to a particular civ, it does not matter what type you will select for the next renewal, the level with that civ will be maintained and continue to grow further.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2020
    Knightfall likes this.
  10. Knightfall

    Knightfall Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    United States
    That means that you're essentially combing two units into one bigger one. Later on you get Armies, which combine three units. This was added in VI to represent the development of large standing armies in the past few hundred years, and to cut down on unit spam clogging the map.
     
  11. Ticio

    Ticio Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    186
    Gender:
    Male
    Thank you very much for the mod! I will check it today!
    And you idea that the developers are "squeezing" time as the last part of the game seems pretty accurate as is a more "comptacted" time frame.
    I have been playing some games with Mongols, and I found them to be very strong. One of their advantages is the instant Trade post. This allows them to relocate their traders instantly and save them hundreds of turns!
    Knowing this increasing time for trade routes, this ability turn to be super strong now (even more!!).
     
    Knightfall likes this.
  12. Ostelen56

    Ostelen56 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2020
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    I saw an unit that can cross a river and walk through 2 tiles (antic era). It seems it is because there is a city where it goes. Does a city next to a river remove the penalty for crossing it ?
     
    Knightfall likes this.
  13. Ostelen56

    Ostelen56 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2020
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male

    Why can not put this campus here ?



    After have lost my city and get it back now I can put a campus. Bug ?
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2020
  14. Ostelen56

    Ostelen56 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2020
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male

    Why I can not attack in one turn ? I believed that one tile per turn was the minimum possible.
     
    Knightfall likes this.
  15. Ostelen56

    Ostelen56 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2020
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    In a video of a pro who play at deity he uses fortifies always and say his unit will be healed. What is the use of the button heal if the fortify one makes have the two benefices ?
     
    Knightfall likes this.
  16. Ostelen56

    Ostelen56 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2020
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    I choosed jesuite education to buy library with faith but when I click on the icon "buy with faith" in the city it reads that nothing can be bought.
     
    Knightfall likes this.
  17. MrRadar

    MrRadar Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,462
    Yes, city center on a river acts as a bridge.

    You don't have Bronze Working yet, which allows chopping of rainforest. You can't place districts on tiles that have features that you haven't researched yet how to remove.

    Now you had the BW technology.
    By the way, placing district directly on a feature wastes it. If you have to place a district on such a spot, chop or harvest it first with a builder - chopping rainforest will give you food and production, forest and stone - production, marsh - food, etc.

    You just produced a unit in a city which already had one there, so they became stacked, and the game does not allow to attack from a stacked position, you must move one of them out first.

    Heal button fortifies the unit until it heals and then the unit wakes up and asks for orders. If you just fortify, it will heal and stay fortified until you remember it yourself.

    Have that city been converted to that religion? If the religion is not dominant in that particular city, you can't benefit from its bonuses.
     
    Knightfall and Jeppetto like this.
  18. iammaxhailme

    iammaxhailme Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,414
    Do Ley Lines give tourism from their culture when getting flight? I think they're a feature, not an improvment, so I suspect not.
     
    Knightfall likes this.
  19. Ostelen56

    Ostelen56 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2020
    Messages:
    70
    Gender:
    Male
    What happen to my cities converted to an enemy religion if I raze its holy city ?

    To be sure : if I have the holy city of an enemy, then I can beneficiate of the bonus of its religion in my cities that are converted, is not it ?

    Then, If I have two holy cities, I can beneficiate of the bonus of two religions ??
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2020
    Knightfall likes this.
  20. Time Tested

    Time Tested Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    You cannot end your turn with two military units in the same tile. If you attack with your chariot, it will not destroy the Barbarian warrior and will return to its start tile (the city). However, you already have a warrior in that tile. You either need to attack in the movement suggested by the game, or you could move you warrior out of the city first, and then attack with the chariot.
     
    Knightfall likes this.

Share This Page