1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Single Player bugs and crashes v37 plus (SVN) - After the 24th of December 2016

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Dancing Hoskuld, Dec 26, 2016.

  1. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,209
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Can you post a screen shot please? And a screenshot of your settings found in the Victory tab (red fist icon) top right.

    Thanks Septimius
     
  2. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,209
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    The holding down the the ALT _Tab has long not worked. When the game hangs you have to do a physical shutdown of your computer.

    You just updated to 9906, what was your prior version if you can remember?

    Also with some of the Major changes being done for prep to release new v38 version it would be best if you cleared the cache file. It is found on win 10 OS here: C:\Users\"username"\AppData\Local\My Games\Beyond the Sword\cache . Delete all files inside the cache folder.

    Win 7 has a similar directory path.
     
  3. Septimius

    Septimius Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Sure thing Screenshot (1).png Screenshot (2).png Screenshot (3).png Screenshot (4).png
     
  4. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,209
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    A settler in my Snail game cost 2206 :hammers:. An archer costs 360 in my Marathon game and 425 in the Snail.

    Note by having the Outbreak and Afflictions Option On you have negated all diseases effects in your game. That Option according to T-brd is not really ready for play. He can correct me if I have misunderstood what he has told me.

    There maybe another Option conflict as well. I'll have to check my notes and compare to your screens.

    Thank you for posting them.

    EDIT: I believe T-brd also said the SM and SM Uncut should not be played together. Again I'll defer to him.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2018
  5. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,634
    Location:
    Poland
    Alt+tab works very quickly if you use windowed mode.

    In civ4 ini file you can find these lines:
    ; Specify whether to play in fullscreen mode 0/1/ask
    FullScreen = 0

    If they don't exist then copypaste it.

    You can then use this even if you alt-tab a lot:
    ; Allows some memory savings *** ALT-TAB WILL NO LONGER FUNCTION ***
    MemSaver = 1
    This saves RAM.

    Alt+tab will work, but if something else goes fullscren then game will crash.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2018
  6. Septimius

    Septimius Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Yeah, I know... I tried the outbreak stuff in an earlier game and forgot it was apparently on by default now. So I decided to just go with it, instead of ditching another game. I don't suppose you can just disable it?
     
  7. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,634
    Location:
    Poland
    Outbreak/afflictions is under development. You shouldn't enable it.
    It is disabled and hidden for now.

    You can disable it in world builder.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2018
  8. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,209
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    I have 5 games going in 3 of the 6 GS. These game are On Normal, Marathon, and Snail. Here is the cost in :hammers: to build a Settler in the 3 GS I'm testing/playing.
    Normal Settler costs 80:hammers:
    Marathon Settler costs 856:hammers:
    Snail Settler costs 2021:hammers:

    And you say the Eternity Settler costs ~5400:hammers: Using NM Deity

    Guess I need to start and Epic and Eon game to see what the Settler cost is in them. Or extrapolate from the numbers we already have.

    Edit: Upgrade costs for units follow a similar pattern.
    EDIT: All these :hammers: costs are on Immortal Difficulty , except for maybe 1 on Emperor. Will need to dbl check that. So your NMDeity cost maybe higher than my Immortal Diff level as well.
     
  9. Shoobs

    Shoobs Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    498
  10. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,209
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Shoobs,
    You do know that uploading a screenshot thru the forum is very easy don't you?

    And what is your Game speed used? (I'm assuming Eternity). Also what difficulty level are you using?

    These will be pertinent information for figuring out these costs.

    EDIT: FYI, Do you know that Minimum City Border and 1City tile start are mutually exclusive? Also Minimum City Border also messes with Realistic Culture Spread.

    Thanks
     
  11. Shoobs

    Shoobs Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    498
    If you look at all three of those links, all those questions will be answered.

    Also steam has not properly saved a screenshot in Civ4 in ages, thus the reason I use Puush.

    Did not know they were exclusive and harmed each other. I"ll look into it the next time I start a game.
     
  12. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,634
    Location:
    Poland
    I found out something very weird:
    Tribes and settlers doesn't have defined costs in Civ4UnitInfos XML.
    Spoiler :

    <UnitInfo>
    <Class>UNITCLASS_TRIBE</Class>
    <Type>UNIT_TRIBE</Type>
    <Capture>UNITCLASS_CAPTIVE_CIVILIAN</Capture>
    <Combat>UNITCOMBAT_SETTLER</Combat>
    <SubCombatTypes>
    <SubCombatType>UNITCOMBAT_CIVILIAN</SubCombatType>
    <SubCombatType>UNITCOMBAT_SPECIES_HUMAN</SubCombatType>
    <SubCombatType>UNITCOMBAT_MOTILITY_FOOT</SubCombatType>
    <SubCombatType>UNITCOMBAT_QUALITY_MEDIOCRE</SubCombatType>
    <SubCombatType>UNITCOMBAT_GROUP_BATTALION</SubCombatType>
    <SubCombatType>UNITCOMBAT_SIZE_MEDIUM</SubCombatType>
    <SubCombatType>UNITCOMBAT_HEALS_AS_PEOPLE</SubCombatType>
    </SubCombatTypes>
    <Domain>DOMAIN_LAND</Domain>
    <MapCategoryTypes>
    <MapCategoryType>MAPCATEGORY_EARTH</MapCategoryType>
    </MapCategoryTypes>
    <DefaultUnitAI>UNITAI_SETTLE</DefaultUnitAI>
    <Description>TXT_KEY_UNIT_TRIBE</Description>
    <Civilopedia>TXT_KEY_UNIT_TRIBE_PEDIA</Civilopedia>
    <Strategy>TXT_KEY_UNIT_TRIBE_STRATEGY</Strategy>
    <Advisor>ADVISOR_GROWTH</Advisor>
    <bFood>1</bFood>
    <bFound>1</bFound>
    <UnitClassUpgrades>
    <UnitClassUpgrade>
    <UnitClassUpgradeType>UNITCLASS_SETTLER</UnitClassUpgradeType>
    <bUnitClassUpgrade>1</bUnitClassUpgrade>
    </UnitClassUpgrade>
    </UnitClassUpgrades>
    <UnitAIs>
    <UnitAI>
    <UnitAIType>UNITAI_SETTLE</UnitAIType>
    <bUnitAI>1</bUnitAI>
    </UnitAI>
    </UnitAIs>
    <PrereqTech>TECH_TRIBALISM</PrereqTech>
    <ForceObsoleteTech>TECH_SEDENTARY_LIFESTYLE</ForceObsoleteTech>
    <ProductionTraits>
    <ProductionTrait>
    <ProductionTraitType>TRAIT_IMPERIALIST</ProductionTraitType>
    <iProductionTrait>50</iProductionTrait>
    </ProductionTrait>
    </ProductionTraits>
    <iCost>1</iCost> - Tribe iCost
    <iMoves>1</iMoves>
    <iAsset>1</iAsset>
    <UnitMeshGroups>
    <iGroupSize>5</iGroupSize>
    <fMaxSpeed>1.75</fMaxSpeed>
    <fPadTime>1</fPadTime>
    <iMeleeWaveSize>5</iMeleeWaveSize>
    <iRangedWaveSize>0</iRangedWaveSize>
    <UnitMeshGroup>
    <iRequired>1</iRequired>
    <EarlyArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_UNIT_TRIBE_MALE</EarlyArtDefineTag>
    </UnitMeshGroup>
    <UnitMeshGroup>
    <iRequired>1</iRequired>
    <EarlyArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_UNIT_TRIBE_FEMALE</EarlyArtDefineTag>
    </UnitMeshGroup>
    <UnitMeshGroup>
    <iRequired>1</iRequired>
    <EarlyArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_UNIT_TRIBE_MALE</EarlyArtDefineTag>
    </UnitMeshGroup>
    <UnitMeshGroup>
    <iRequired>1</iRequired>
    <EarlyArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_UNIT_TRIBE_FEMALE</EarlyArtDefineTag>
    </UnitMeshGroup>
    <UnitMeshGroup>
    <iRequired>1</iRequired>
    <EarlyArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_UNIT_TRIBE_CHILD</EarlyArtDefineTag>
    </UnitMeshGroup>
    </UnitMeshGroups>
    <FormationType>FORMATION_TYPE_SETTLER</FormationType>
    </UnitInfo>



    <UnitInfo>
    <Class>UNITCLASS_SETTLER</Class>
    <Type>UNIT_SETTLER</Type>
    <Capture>UNITCLASS_CAPTIVE_CIVILIAN</Capture>
    <Combat>UNITCOMBAT_SETTLER</Combat>
    <SubCombatTypes>
    <SubCombatType>UNITCOMBAT_CIVILIAN</SubCombatType>
    <SubCombatType>UNITCOMBAT_SPECIES_HUMAN</SubCombatType>
    <SubCombatType>UNITCOMBAT_MOTILITY_FOOT</SubCombatType>
    <SubCombatType>UNITCOMBAT_QUALITY_MEDIOCRE</SubCombatType>
    <SubCombatType>UNITCOMBAT_GROUP_BATTALION</SubCombatType>
    <SubCombatType>UNITCOMBAT_SIZE_MEDIUM</SubCombatType>
    <SubCombatType>UNITCOMBAT_HEALS_AS_PEOPLE</SubCombatType>
    </SubCombatTypes>
    <Domain>DOMAIN_LAND</Domain>
    <MapCategoryTypes>
    <MapCategoryType>MAPCATEGORY_EARTH</MapCategoryType>
    </MapCategoryTypes>
    <DefaultUnitAI>UNITAI_SETTLE</DefaultUnitAI>
    <Description>TXT_KEY_UNIT_SETTLER</Description>
    <Civilopedia>TXT_KEY_UNIT_SETTLER_PEDIA</Civilopedia>
    <Strategy>TXT_KEY_UNIT_SETTLER_STRATEGY</Strategy>
    <Advisor>ADVISOR_GROWTH</Advisor>
    <bFood>1</bFood>
    <bFound>1</bFound>
    <UnitClassUpgrades>
    <UnitClassUpgrade>
    <UnitClassUpgradeType>UNITCLASS_COLONIST</UnitClassUpgradeType>
    <bUnitClassUpgrade>1</bUnitClassUpgrade>
    </UnitClassUpgrade>
    </UnitClassUpgrades>
    <UnitAIs>
    <UnitAI>
    <UnitAIType>UNITAI_SETTLE</UnitAIType>
    <bUnitAI>1</bUnitAI>
    </UnitAI>
    </UnitAIs>
    <PrereqTech>TECH_SEDENTARY_LIFESTYLE</PrereqTech>
    <ProductionTraits>
    <ProductionTrait>
    <ProductionTraitType>TRAIT_IMPERIALIST</ProductionTraitType>
    <iProductionTrait>50</iProductionTrait>
    </ProductionTrait>
    </ProductionTraits>
    <iMoves>2</iMoves>
    <iAsset>1</iAsset>
    <UnitMeshGroups>
    <iGroupSize>7</iGroupSize>
    <fMaxSpeed>1.75</fMaxSpeed>
    <fPadTime>1</fPadTime>
    <iMeleeWaveSize>7</iMeleeWaveSize>
    <iRangedWaveSize>0</iRangedWaveSize>
    <UnitMeshGroup>
    <iRequired>1</iRequired>
    <EarlyArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_UNIT_SETTLER_MALE</EarlyArtDefineTag>
    </UnitMeshGroup>
    <UnitMeshGroup>
    <iRequired>1</iRequired>
    <EarlyArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_UNIT_HORSE_PACK</EarlyArtDefineTag>
    </UnitMeshGroup>
    <UnitMeshGroup>
    <iRequired>1</iRequired>
    <EarlyArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_UNIT_DOG</EarlyArtDefineTag>
    </UnitMeshGroup>
    <UnitMeshGroup>
    <iRequired>1</iRequired>
    <EarlyArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_UNIT_SETTLER_CHILD</EarlyArtDefineTag>
    </UnitMeshGroup>
    <UnitMeshGroup>
    <iRequired>1</iRequired>
    <EarlyArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_UNIT_SETTLER_FEMALE</EarlyArtDefineTag>
    </UnitMeshGroup>
    <UnitMeshGroup>
    <iRequired>1</iRequired>
    <EarlyArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_UNIT_SETTLER_FEMALE</EarlyArtDefineTag>
    </UnitMeshGroup>
    <UnitMeshGroup>
    <iRequired>1</iRequired>
    <EarlyArtDefineTag>ART_DEF_UNIT_SETTLER_CHILD</EarlyArtDefineTag>
    </UnitMeshGroup>
    </UnitMeshGroups>
    <FormationType>FORMATION_TYPE_SETTLER</FormationType>
    </UnitInfo>

    Even most ancient Brute has cost of 3
    <iCost>3</iCost>
     
  13. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,209
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Got it. See my edit above. Thanks

    Did not know that Steam changed the way screen shots were saved to the games directory while in the game. Saving directly to Steam yes. F12 iirc for Steam vs in game Printscreen key saved to screenshots in the C:\Users\"username"\Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\ScreenShots.
     
  14. Shoobs

    Shoobs Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    498
  15. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,811
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    It sounds like I need to look at the cost charts on that.

    True

    Actually, this is the opposite, they MUST be both on IF uncut is to be on. I've made it so that uncut forces the original platform to turn on but I can't do it before some calculations take place that cause some immediate problems so the game must start with them both if uncut is to be played.
     
  16. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,811
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Oh yeah... that's right. I'll have to go in and see how they derive their costs again.
     
    raxo2222 likes this.
  17. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,209
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Thanks for the correction on the SM Options.
     
  18. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,634
    Location:
    Poland
    Yeah, I saw suspiciously diverging settler costs on Joseph list, so I went to check how much they cost, so I could use my calculator, that just simply multiples base cost by four modifiers, each divided by 100.

    Good that this seemingly buggy settler cost got caught.
     
  19. Shoobs

    Shoobs Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    498
    It literally says "Screanshot failed to save."
     
  20. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,634
    Location:
    Poland
    I use fraps for screenshots.
    It is useful for keeping screenshots from anywhere in one place.
     

Share This Page