1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Post Feb 1st 2013 - bugs - Single Player

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Dancing Hoskuld, Jan 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,001
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Get rid of the -3 hammers and they just might build a gambling den. Gambling doesn't destroy labor/production it only squanders it's fruits. And with a Plus 10 Crime attached forget it. You can try to force me to build one but you can't and won't succeed.

    JosEPh
     
  2. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    I think you will like the new tweaks I made to the Gambling Den, Gambling Hall, Casino, Brothel and Gentleman's Club.

    Gambling Buildings
    - Removed the - :hammers:
    - Change to +1 :) instead of +1:mad:
    - Still gives Crime
    - Casino still gives :culture:

    Brothel/Gentleman's Club
    - Removed Crime and :yuck:
    - Reduced +%:espionage:
    - Added +% :gold:
    - Still gives :) and :culture: and Disease
     
  3. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    Depends upon how many cities I have. If I have a HUGE empire then having the university or not is not much of an impact. However if I have like 5 cities or less then its much greater gold impact.
     
  4. Whisperr

    Whisperr Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    226
    In my game there seems to be some problems with the Barbarian civilizations. The Portuguese have 3 cities but 1 is so far away that it is costing nearly 30 :gold: a round in distance to palace to the point that they have 0% :science: and negative :gold: every round.

    And the Maori's are building so many scouts that they also have 0% :science: and negative :gold: a round. The saved game will show the Maori's continue to build scouts.

    Playing ahead both of these nations go into STRIKE.



     

    Attached Files:

  5. AIAndy

    AIAndy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,392
    God-Emperor posted a test that will show if it was worth it to build the universities or not. It does not matter if the good or bad decision has a large impact or not.

    Increasing the science slider comes at no opportunity cost and no hammer cost. So if the action that does cost opportunity and hammers is worse than increasing the science slider, then why do it?
    So take your game with the many universities and sell universities until you can increase the science slider by one notch. Then compare your science income before all that and after. If after is better, then it is better not to build universities at all unless you are consistently at 100% research.
     
  6. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    24,851
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
  7. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    I already reduced the gold from -100 to -50 on the SVN today.
     
  8. Snofru1

    Snofru1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,058
    Location:
    Germany
    I know that Hydro has already reduced the gold for University from -100 to -50 (strangely enough showing in all my cities`building list as -60) but still would like to comment:

    The University is important beyond its research increase: It gives some hammers and food later on and it opens up a long list of other buildings including military buildings, Patent Office, Police Academy and many Wonders. And if you don´t build a University then you won´t build all those labs and that will hurt your science definitively.
    I think -50 is ok.

    PS: Didn´t see Hydro´s last reply when I wrote this.
     
  9. Flinx

    Flinx Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    452
    You might keep in mind that the values are the basic ones without factoring game speed and world size.
     
  10. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    Here is a mini-dump from the same game I posted the bombard problem. But only like 1 turn later. It just gave me a CTD with no error or anything when I pressed enter for the next turn. Its SVN v5127 I think.
     
  11. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    @ls612 - I suspect the maintenance issue is due to your changes about what cities get incorporated into a barb civ when I emerges - if you were being too aggressive there (with the above result) all you'd have accomplished would be creating larger barb civs than before, at he cost of them not being viable. You may need to add code to the barb civ formation to asses the maintenance costs of adding a city (you know its distance and the number of cities, which are the only factors), and inhibit doing so if it goes over some threshold amount for any given city.

    The scout building looks a little odd, so I'll look into the scout case you specifically have here later today.

    Edit - good catch! I've pinned this one down - it was due to some buggy great general code whereby the GC requested a hunter to join up with (best the Maori can produce is s scout), but then (due to the bug) the requested hunter never joins the general so it asks for another...

    Fix will be on the SVN soonish
     
  12. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    This is a crash in the main game-engine, not the DLL, so most likely a graphics issue. I'll see if I can reproduce it however if you an provide a save game that crashes on continue (one turn earlier is no that useful - a turn takes about 45 minutes on debug)

    Edit - I played the next 3 turns (non-debug just to see if I could reproduce the issue first) from your bombard save. It didn't crash for me, so I'm definitely going to need your save where pressing end turn causes a crash in order to look at this further.
     
  13. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    I tend to agree that -50 is probably ok, though I would also request a tweak to the increases hat come with later techs, just because a tech changing soothing from -50 to -49 really might as well no be there (so make it plus 5 with economics is all I'm asking for).

    I think the high cost (low cost/science efficiency) is fine at the point (early Renaissance) when universities first appear (they were very rare prestige institutions at that time), so long as they eventually become more mainstream (which is achieved through the boosts with later techs, provided they scale a bit, and with later dependent buildings).

    @Snorfu1 - it's -60 for you (and the original -100 was -150 for me) due to difficulty level I think (which impacts base maintenance modifiers)
     
  14. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,001
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    The Python Error popup that won't go away came back last night (even with the Python screen display turned off in BUG) . Again it was my outrigger vs Turk's Dragon ship. And the problem has a deeper level. Since the screen is only partially frozen (some animation is still working as is the Message scrolls at the top for builds completed) but you can not advance the turn you have to Ctrl/Alt/Del to get out. In Win 7 this brings up the Win 7 screen for opening Task mngr, Logging Off, etc.. If you select Task manager the screen pops up But as soon as you try to click on Civ IV to "End Task" you get thrown back to the game with a black screen. I had to Manually turn the computer off to get out.

    Sidenote: This morning I have a msg and a blue screen on start up say windows encountered a problem and it could not start properly. I let it do its repair thing. After repair finished (incomplete) this is the error code: 0x490, in System Files Integrity check and repair. All else was error free.

    So, what do I do? Start a new game? Re-install the Mod. Or just revert back to s Save point thru system restore?

    JosEPh
     
  15. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    Right click in task manager to kill Civ in those circumstances
     
  16. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,001
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    <delete> Moved to Discussion thread.

    JosEPh
     
  17. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,903
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    iirc the Python pop-ups have nothing to do with the BUG options it is turned on/of in your INI file HidePythonExceptions should be 1. The BUG options control what goes to the logs.
     
  18. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22,903
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Found the civic_slavery one in Project_Hades. Will fix.

    Edit The other two are in CivPlayer8's Buildings folder and I can't see anything wrong. Perhaps someone who is not dyslexic could have a look.
     
  19. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    Haven't been tracking this - what am I looking for exactly?
     
  20. AIAndy

    AIAndy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,392
    I fixed it. There was a too early closing tag so the building definitions were not actually read.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page