1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Quick Questions and Answers

  1. choraltrickster

    choraltrickster Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    81
    Hey all,

    I thought I had seen a screenshot of someone's HoF with a banner colour other than grey, but browsing the web shows nothing to this effect. Has anyone seen another banner colour?

    I was disappointed that the banners didn't have a colour code according to the difficulty of the victory. I assumed they were as all of my victories had come on Emperor and they were all the same--then I won on Immortal and there was no change. I think this would be a nice feature allowing for a at-a-glance view of VC accomplishment. Does anyone know if there are any 'improved HoF' mods out there? I'd also love to be able to see more data (ie: click on a ruler for the history summary of games played as that ruler).

    Anyone want to make an improved HoF mod? ;)

    Please share any links to HoF explained, or any mods you know of, as I couldn't find much. Thanks!
     
  2. Tuvok694

    Tuvok694 Civ6 addict

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    284
    Gender:
    Male
    Is it part of the program code that Scotland starts near tundra or generally always gets crappy start positions? Today I reloaded about six or seven times and always started in tundra although all the terrain options were set to "standard".
     
  3. ShimmerGloom

    ShimmerGloom Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Do improvements that provide tourism (kampung, moai, etc) need to be worked to give their tourism bonus?
     
  4. lotrmith

    lotrmith King

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    725
    Nope!

    For example, Ski Resorts cannot even be worked (unless perhaps by Inca)!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 11, 2020
    ShimmerGloom likes this.
  5. Hokie Fan

    Hokie Fan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2020
    Messages:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    No (as previously stated) but they do have to be within the first three rings of a city. One trap, if you have a super powerful capital, is that sometimes the capital will claim tiles outside of its third ring that should belong to another city. If this happens, just swap the tiles in the citizen manager view.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 11, 2020
    ShimmerGloom likes this.
  6. ShimmerGloom

    ShimmerGloom Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2020
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
  7. Pfeffersack

    Pfeffersack Deity

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,680
    Location:
    Germany
    AFAIK, the Inca have to be careful with Ski Resorts, as any mountain getting them is lost for tile working.
     
  8. AlexandriaWolf

    AlexandriaWolf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Female
    So just now my scout was exploring and I saw Russia's Great Prophet. Outside his borders, no defenders. I moved to be on top of it just to see what would happen and got the warning that this would cause a war. This made me believe I could, in fact, deprive Russia of their Great Prophet and set them back considerably on founding their religion which would be GREAT considering how annoying Peter is with his incessant attempts to convert everyone once he's founded his religion! Totally worth a war! LOL So when I moved my Scout onto the tile with the Prophet the Prophet simply disappeared, Peter declared war on me. Great! But NO. Because the very NEXT turn Russia founds its religion anyway! What happened? And if you CANNOT take a Great Prophet away from someone then why on earth does attempting to do so start a war???
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2020
  9. hhhhhh

    hhhhhh Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2020
    Messages:
    414
    Great Persons in Civ VI won't die. They will be teleported to nearest city if they got attacked.

    The only way you eliminate a Great Person is to wipe out that civ. Even in that case another Great Prophet will be available for other civs, thus not reducing the total number of religions.
     
  10. hhhhhh

    hhhhhh Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2020
    Messages:
    414
    The only ones with starting bias related to Tundra are Canada (Tier 1) and Russia (Tier 2).
     
    tiamats4esgares likes this.
  11. AlexandriaWolf

    AlexandriaWolf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Female
    Well then moving over one shouldn't start a war! LOL
     
  12. tsf4

    tsf4 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    86
    Is there a way to not have start bias? like Civ 5?
     
  13. hhhhhh

    hhhhhh Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2020
    Messages:
    414
    Two quick questions, namely

    1. I know that military unit cannot kill rock band. How about naturalist? Are they also moved to nearest city if an enemy unit step on them?

    2. How much does it cost to repair a pillaged district? Has the cost changed? I recall it used to be very slow to repair district but people don't complain about it any more and it seems like repairing is a lot faster. How is the cost computed? Is it like 1/4 of the building cost of that district? (seems like the case when you repair monuments.)
     
  14. Linklite

    Linklite Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Messages:
    328
    Gender:
    Male
    1. I've not tried it, but I'm pretty sure you can't kill them.
    2. I don't know the maths, but it's not too bad now. Whenever a district has been damaged, it's only taken a few turns to repair, usually less than 5 but I've not had it go into double figures in a long time.
    Not the most detailed answer and hopefully someone more knowledgable than me will answer, but maybe this answer will serve until they do.
     
  15. Laurana Kanan

    Laurana Kanan Don’t underestimate who I am.

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,848
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Near the Greatest Snow on Earth
    They retreat to the nearest city.
    25% of the district cost. There was a bug that was causing the repair cost to be 100% of the production cost, but was patched out in the Sept. '19 update.
     
  16. Bojmir

    Bojmir Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    I'm confused on counter spying. I put a counterspy on my spaceport but I still have it sabotaged and when it's sabotaged I get a message saying my spy was successful in preventing the sabotage. Sometimes it even asks me to promote him. So what exactly is he doing?
     
  17. Rokmo

    Rokmo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    I have an alliance with everyone, but I can't see their spies in my cities. I know they are spying on me because of the notifications. A while ago I used to be able to see those spies and now I can't, was there a change that you can't see opposing spies of civs you're allied with in your cities anymore?
     
  18. hhhhhh

    hhhhhh Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2020
    Messages:
    414
    It's not a change. Learn about diplomatic visibility. You can only see their spy if you obtain "Top Secret" diplomatic visibility. Alliance + Printing get you 2 levels of that, adding an embassy and a trade route will get you "Top Secret".
     
    Rokmo likes this.
  19. hhhhhh

    hhhhhh Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2020
    Messages:
    414
    So if you conquer a city with a pillaged UD that got to converted to a regular district, how much does it cost to repair? And conversely if you have a UD and you conquered a city with a pillaged regular district, does it matter? Still cost 1/4 of the cost when it was built?
     
  20. hhhhhh

    hhhhhh Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2020
    Messages:
    414
    Another dumb question, can I participate/initiate an emergency if the target is my ally? Somehow I thought I can, but there are sources says otherwise (it says if I'm ally or friend with the target then I can only participate in betrayal emergency against the target). Can anyone confirm this?
     

Share This Page