1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Quick Questions and Answers

  1. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,740
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    If you are playing as either Greek leader, you can use them immediately (put them in your extra wildcard slot).
     
  2. Mahasona

    Mahasona Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    UK
    I read that scouts don't count towards maintenance costs. Is this true?

    How about religious units or builders?

    [Edit] Just read that "base maintainance cost for each unit is dependent on their tech level. Warrior, Scout and Slinger cost zero, while Archer, Spearman cost 1g, Swordsmen cost 2g etc"

    So what about those religious units?
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2016
  3. Dale H

    Dale H Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    How do I send delegations and establish embassies?
     
  4. stroypa

    stroypa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    England
    In civ V inquisitors stationed in a city would block a missionary from spreading a foreign religion. Is this still the case in VI?
     
  5. Silverdawn

    Silverdawn Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    490
    Through the diplomacy interface. If it is possible, you are given them as options.
     
  6. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,740
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    No, the Civ V inquisitors' "invisible repulsion effect" that caused foreign religions' missionaries and Great Prophets to flee and do spread missions elsewhere is not present in Civ VI. Instead, inquisitors have the ability to initiate religious combat with apostles and missionaries of other religions, without requiring that you be at war with the other civ.
     
  7. swimslave

    swimslave Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    32
  8. Sogno di Volare

    Sogno di Volare Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Is there a way to see district output on the map?


    It seems weird that they are just dead space on the map.....
     
  9. DramaPhelps

    DramaPhelps Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Ok, I don't know how to best ask this but what is the rock/paper/scissors of the combat for unit classes? For example, I believe melee is a good counter to anti-cavalry. What are counters to each classes and if you feel like, naming the units for each class would be really helpful. Example: warrior is melee. I've tried finding a full guide as this seems like a good topic for that sort of thing but have had no luck.

    Thank you!

    EDIT: bump : (
    EDIT: Anyone?
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2016
  10. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,740
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
  11. smartcanuck1988

    smartcanuck1988 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    276
    Where do you store great works of music aside from some specific wonders (e.g. Broadway)? Am I completely missing a tech/civic that unlocks an Opera or something a la Civ V?
     
  12. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,740
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    Research Radio (tech) to unlock the Broadcast Center -- Can be built in a Theater District that has a museum (either art or archaeological). Has one slot for a Great Work of Music.
     
    smartcanuck1988 likes this.
  13. Antiriad

    Antiriad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    I had the ancient walls of a city bombarded into oblivion by a Minas Geraes. Now I don't seem to have the option to repair them. There is an option to build medieval walls, but it says I must first have ancient walls. I transitioned into the industrial era before I could repair the walls - so I think this is what the problem is, but would like confirmation.
     
  14. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,740
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    This appears to be the bug described in this thread: http://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/wall-building-issue.601683/

    I suspect your walls were damaged before you unlocked Civil Engineering and weren't repaired before that civic unlocked. Once that civic unlocks, you can no longer repair old walls, and this glitch appears.
     
  15. Shorlin

    Shorlin Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    How many turns does a peace treaty last?
     
  16. Loxas

    Loxas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Help, I'm being spanked by the ui

    1- Where do i see how many turns/culture my cities need to get a new tile?
    2 - Is it possible to see the next which tile will be aquired next?
    3 - It says, for example, 0 amenities of 0 amenities needed, but how can i know when that is going to change? Will it be when city reach 4 citzens? 5? I tried leaving the cursor over that, expecting a pop up to tell me, but nothing
     
  17. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,740
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    On 1 and 2, the UI does not currently include that information. It's commonly requested, so hopefully we will see it in a patch.

    On 3, see the Amenity Guide: http://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/amenity-guide.602364/
     
    Loxas likes this.
  18. ViterboKnight

    ViterboKnight King

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    786
    How many times can a great writer or artist be used to generate great works? It seems each one can be used several times, even 3 times, before it disappears. Is it the intended behavior, or instead a bug (as it seems)?
     
  19. smartcanuck1988

    smartcanuck1988 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    276
    Thanks!

    Yeah most of them give you 2-3 works so you can use them that many times. You can either mouse over the great persons icon or read the description before recruiting to see how many works they will produce.

    The issue the I often run into is that a great person can still produce more works but I have no more slots left.
     
  20. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,740
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    Each Great Artist can create three Great Works of Art and each Great Writer or Musician can create two Great Works of Writing or Music, respectively, but in each case they only create 1 Great Work for each time they are activated. So, a Great Artist will be activated 3 times before it disappears.

    The specific works a GWAM creates are shown on the Great People screen before you buy the GWAM and can be checked any time by opening the Civilopedia or by mouse hovering the GWAM's action button (which also tells you what sort of district or other tile where the GWAM can be activated).
     

Share This Page