1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Quick Questions and Answers

  1. Leyrann

    Leyrann Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    3,629
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    There's one type of belief you're forced to take (I don't know for certain what it's called, but you have less options, and the icons are the same for all of them) and then you're free to take one of each of the others in the order you choose.

    A question of my own: Why can't I build woods in this tile, while I did plant them in the tile above and below it (only the right tile of the NP is old growth):

    upload_2017-12-17_11-51-30.png
     
  2. Leyrann

    Leyrann Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    3,629
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    An additional one:

    I believe this tile (the empty one, not the one with the builder) should be at 4 appeal: 2 (old growth woods) + 2 (2 coastal tiles) + 1 (Theater Square) - 1 (Industrial Zone). Why is it at 3?

    EDIT: I figured it out. The "+1 appeal" for old growth woods at Conservation is on their own tile, rather than the surrounding tiles.

    upload_2017-12-17_13-18-39.png
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2017
  3. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,035
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Something that's been bothering me from the beginning of the game, there has to be a way to fix this. This is un modded Civ6 by the way aside from Yamp (maps).

    When you open the city-state menu sometimes it opens and you can see all the city states in one go, but sometimes it opens, but the bottom half of the screen is occupied by details on one particular city-state. And I can't find a way to get this bottom half to go away so I can see the entire list of city states without scrolling (very annoying). I want to see my status at a quick glance. How to I get rid of the city state details on the bottom half of the city state screen?

    edit: I seem to have figured it out, but it's still an annoying mechanic. It seems when you have unused envoys that city-state detail screen pops up on the bottom half of your city state screen. Very annoying. The funny thing is I didn't notice I had 6 unused envoys. :lol: Once I used them, the screen went away. Nevertheless, there should be an option to get rid of that annoying screen.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2017
  4. Zdarg

    Zdarg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    What's friendly territory for apostles? Do they really heal on land of empire I have alliance with? I don't see this (the city's religion is mine, if it matters). Or is it just extremely slow?
     
  5. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,035
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    they only heal on or adjacent (1 hex) from holy sites. I haven't tried it on an allies holy site.
     
  6. Duuk

    Duuk Doom-Sayer Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,622
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan, USA
    So, I'm throwing this out here and I'm hoping it becomes a thing.

    In this thread: Ask all of the questions you're too embarrassed to admit you don't understand.

    I'll start:

    When combat results display, what do they mean?

    "Your slinger (42 damage) was attacked by a spearman (26 damage)"
     
  7. empresskiova

    empresskiova Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    169
    Gender:
    Male
    That says how much damage each unit took in thar combat. Your slinger took 42 damage. The spearmen took 26.
     
  8. stealth_nsk

    stealth_nsk Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Full health is 100.
     
  9. Duuk

    Duuk Doom-Sayer Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,622
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan, USA
    I never really knew if it was damage taken or damage inflicted.

    If someone converts your holy city of your religion, and no other cities follow it, is it possible to revive it, or is it dead?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 21, 2017
  10. Olleus

    Olleus Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    6,473
    Location:
    England
    If no cities follow a religion and it has no apostles/missionaries, it's dead in all but the most esoteric situations.
     
  11. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10,828
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Build Mahabodhi Temple — it gives you two apostles of your original religion — but, if you can, delay using the apostles until you have at least one temple in your empire, and use one apostle to convert that city and use the other to launch an inquisition (you will need inquisitors both to reconvert cities from other religions and for homeland religious defense generally).

    Moderator Action: Appreciate the sentiment about starting an “ask your stupid questions here” thread, but that is what this thread is for (minus the “stupid” part —no questions are really stupid), so threads merged.
     
  12. Olleus

    Olleus Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    6,473
    Location:
    England
    I believe Stonehenge does the same thing too? Eitherway, you're highly unlikely to get either wonder if your religion has already been wiped out
     
  13. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10,828
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Stonehenge will give one apostle if you’ve already founded a religion, but Stonehenge is usually long gone by then. Mahabodhi Temple requires a religion, and has finicky site requirements, so it usually lasts a lot longer (also may have low weighting for the AI).
     
  14. Rosty K

    Rosty K Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    857
    Gender:
    Male
    It gets confusing if the other side was killed, because then it'll show the damage inflicted instead :D
     
  15. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,035
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Okay so the Alcázar improvement from the Granada suzerain says it gives 2 turns of fortification. What does that mean? I was under the impression being fortified doesn't offer a bonus in this game (since nothing shows up in the tooltip for fortify). Is there a bonus for being fortified and does it increase with number of turns? Or is the Alcázar improvement do something else?
     
  16. empresskiova

    empresskiova Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    169
    Gender:
    Male
    Every turn a unit is fortified it receives additional defensive combat strength. An early game example is that you can watch a Barbarian Spearmen’s combat strength go up once he begins fortifying. I believe it takes 2 turns to fully fortify yourself, or it could be 3. Forts, Alahambra, and Alcazars all speed that up.
     
  17. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,035
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Thanks. All this time I never knew that. Would be helpful to have that on the tooltip like previous games.
     
  18. Zdarg

    Zdarg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    I've checked. It doesn't work on allies holy site, alas.
     
  19. Leyrann

    Leyrann Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    3,629
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    It's in the tooltip when you attack a fortified unit. That said, it's omitted from the Civilopedia, which I think is a weird decision. Stil, I can hardly believe you've never noticed it. Do you play with barbarians off?
     
  20. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9,035
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    about 75% of the time I have barbarians off. I just don't pay close attention to combat odds. I only look at the graphical indicators how much hp I lose and how much hp the opponent loses. I'm not sure how much the AI civs fortify. I don't think they fortify at all to be honest. Except in cities which don't matter since you don't attack the unit inside the city.
     

Share This Page

Ebates: Get Paid to Shop