1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Screenshot of the Day #39: Monster Production

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Thunderfall, Oct 12, 2002.

  1. Thunderfall

    Thunderfall Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    12,131
    Gender:
    Male
    I normally don't post SOTDs on weekends, but since I have about 2 weeks supply of SOTD-worthy screenshots, I think I can make an exception. :) Yesterday's SOTD was about ghost, and today's SOTD is about monsters. Halloween is really around the corner... ;)

    I think this is about the maximum production a city can have. It's in war-time mobilization and GA. Iron Works, Manufacturing Plant, Nuclear Plant. I'd like to have such a city in my next (real) game :)

    http://www.civfanatics.com/sotd/sotd39.jpg

    Please keep taking those cool screenshots and keep them coming! Thanks to NativeOne for the submisison.
     
  2. Pi Seti

    Pi Seti Half a league onward

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Sweet mother of Jesus!!! If you didn't cheat to get that, consider yourself one damn lucky civer. I'm happy to get 200 in any of my cities... Always wondered how high it could go.
     
  3. Thunderfall

    Thunderfall Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    12,131
    Gender:
    Male
    I think it's pretty obvious this city was created using the editor. :) Just look at the culture... only 234 pts...

    It's still an amazing screenshot and a worthy SOTD. :)
     
  4. ZeroOne

    ZeroOne Hitchhiker

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Finland
  5. RufRydyr

    RufRydyr QSC Map Maker

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Ft. Walton Beach, FL USA
    You can increase the production in that city by adding some workers to that city. There is one flood plain square being used by the neighboring city. Put one of the new workers on that and then a couple on the mountains and mine them.
     
  6. RufRydyr

    RufRydyr QSC Map Maker

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Ft. Walton Beach, FL USA
    Wow. That's amazing.
    So what's the biggest population city someone has gotten that is self-supporting? I had a size 40 or 41. It was mosty flood plains after nuking a couple of river cities that were close to each other.
     
  7. cgannon64

    cgannon64 BOB DYLAN'S ROCKIN OUT!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2002
    Messages:
    19,213
    Location:
    Hipster-Authorland, Brooklyn (Hell)
    The biggest self-supporting city I have ever had was someting in the low 30s. And the highest production was about 100. But 500...!

    CG
     
  8. RufRydyr

    RufRydyr QSC Map Maker

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Ft. Walton Beach, FL USA
    Was that with or without GA and war-time economy like this?
     
  9. dawgboy

    dawgboy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Annandale, VA, US of A

    Not to mention that it's 3950 BC....
     
  10. cgannon64

    cgannon64 BOB DYLAN'S ROCKIN OUT!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2002
    Messages:
    19,213
    Location:
    Hipster-Authorland, Brooklyn (Hell)
    It is probably from a scenerio, which explains everything. So don't turn on this guy as a cheater, this city was legitamitely created in the editor. I guess this shows you how far you can go in one city, if you keep pollution in check.

    CG
     
  11. RufRydyr

    RufRydyr QSC Map Maker

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Ft. Walton Beach, FL USA
    He must have completed the new "Time Travel" Great Wonder. It's turns the clock back on your civ! :jump:
     
  12. warpstorm

    warpstorm Yumbo? Yumbo!

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    7,688
    Location:
    Snack Food Capital of the World
    Obviously, it was created in the editor. I don't think I've gotten productivity over 200 legit. But then again I never got that awesome of a city location either.

    Slightly off topic, but I heard that PTW will not allow you to add workers/settlers to a city that is starving.
     
  13. RedTopJay

    RedTopJay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    72
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Diego, CA, USA, Earth, Milky Way
    What does "GA" mean?
     
  14. Mathias

    Mathias OCC Rocks!

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,444
    While you would never find this on a random map (10 coal, 3 iron, and aluminum in the same city), it is, to say the least, very interesting. You can get more production out of a city like this, though. If six of the mountains were hills, you could mine three of the grasslands. This would increase the base production by six shields, and the net production by 24 shields.
     
  15. Mathias

    Mathias OCC Rocks!

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,444
    GA = Golden Age
     
  16. Lieutenant_Qc

    Lieutenant_Qc Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    look at my name
    also notice the "several" coal spots!
     
  17. Grawss

    Grawss Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Only 40 or 41? I have gotten it up to 82 without cheats, seriously I hadn't used the editer or any trainers or anything, I was amazed.
     
  18. cgannon64

    cgannon64 BOB DYLAN'S ROCKIN OUT!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2002
    Messages:
    19,213
    Location:
    Hipster-Authorland, Brooklyn (Hell)
    How? Was this on a custom map, with cows everywhere that were all irrigated? Seriously, if it size 82, it would require 164 food per turn.

    *cgannon64 does the math*

    That is an average of 7.8 food per square! I demand to know how that is possible!

    CG
     
  19. Mathias

    Mathias OCC Rocks!

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,444
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe the most food any one tile can provide is seven. That would be an irrigated, railroaded flood plain with wheat. I have seen random positions with 5 of these such tiles, but even 20 of these plus the city tile would only yield a total of 142 food, supporting a maximum of 71 citizens.
     
  20. ZeroOne

    ZeroOne Hitchhiker

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Finland
    Maybe all Grawss's citizens then instantly died on starvation, he had just inhabited 70 workers there. Quite sadistic... ;)

    Or he might be thinking of Civ2 where you were able to carry surplus food to other cities...
     

Share This Page