1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Single Player bugs and crashes v37 plus (SVN) - After the 24th of December 2016

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Dancing Hoskuld, Dec 26, 2016.

  1. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    21,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    No I didn't. They were manufactured and Cultural bonuses only.

    That might actually explain some of the CTDs people reported. It would only CTD when a plot where one of those bonuses had been placed was displayed.
     
  2. Harrier

    Harrier Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,137
    Location:
    UK
    Do not worry - I think it was my earlier post on SVN 9548 that caused it. You just posted in the middle of the discussion.

    But if it was your post - you should be proud. You helped improve the mod. So keep them coming. :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2017
  3. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19,046
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    This is exactly where I'm stuck. I don't have any concise list anywhere that doesn't seem to be resolved as soon as I start looking into it. Is there anything still left to do here and if so, is there a maintained list somewhere?

    PS: I'm not sure I'm familiar with the validator. It was my understanding that the debug dll would cover this need. Since I'm hearing now that it doesn't, it would be good to get to know how to use this validator myself. Where is it to be obtained in the first place?
     
  4. cammcken

    cammcken Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Found another repeatable CTD; during the turn, in between moves, like last time. This time I can't figure out what's triggering it, but it always happens at the same time in the unit cycle.

    Attached a save from the turn of the crash, a save from the turn before, and a minidump.

    Most recent SVN
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19,046
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    OK... I'll look into this soon. Probably on the weekend.
     
  6. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    21,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    There are the four on the the previous page and the three in the files I posted on the SVN thread when this all came up.

    The Validator is linked to in the Modders documentation thread.
     
  7. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19,046
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I think I'm just going to have to get this and use it myself to see what I can find and fix.
    How am I supposed to know which ones are not addressed and which are though?
     
  8. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    21,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    The ones in the spoilers marked fixed have been fixed none of the others have been. No one has even looked at the ones I put on the SVN thread. Note none of them are the ones with the commerce/yield problem as that is a known issue that requires/ed the schema and dll to be fixed before we can fix the XML. All of the ones that use those tags are mine so I will get to them.
     
  9. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,940
    Location:
    Norway
    This upper case issue is now fixed.
    Don't worry, this stuff would have come on it's own without your previous post.
    DH has been working on xml syntax and structural related errors for quite some time already (1-2 months or more).
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2017
  10. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    19,750
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Toffer mentioned in the SVN Changelog, that the iPLacement (the capital L) will not work nut i found that in the manufactured area that from this point on i believe ALL PL's are that way . . . (see pic)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 20, 2017
  11. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    19,046
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I looked at the first one and didn't see a problem and since I cannot confirm that it hasn't been done, which some conversation alluded to the possibility that it had been addressed, it's frustratingly demotivating to think I'm working on something someone's already fixed. Particularly when all of this could not be coming at a worse time for me to work on... well, it COULD be worse but suffice it to say I'm in the middle of something here.
    As stated, it's correct in the dll and incorrect in the schema so it's a simple schema fix. Did I not already correct this with my last commit? There was only one tag with this problem right?
     
  12. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    21,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I went through an corrected all of them in the Manufactured and Culture folders. Having iPLacement instead of iPlacement is a possible cause of CTD errors as the defaults given by the dll when it reads the file will have an iPlacement of 0 which means that it can be put on the map. However these don't have a map graphic so the plot they are placed on will CTD when displayed on screen.

    In the C2C_Buildings schema file in the XML/Buildings folder it is still

    Code:
        <ElementType name="SpecialistCommerceChange" content="eltOnly">
            <element type="SpecialistType"/>
            <element type="YieldChanges"/>
        </ElementType>
    
    which is wrong.
     
  13. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    12,329
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    This is lines 806, 807, 808, right? Just need to change the <element type="YieldChanges"/> to <element type="CommerceChanges"/> , correct?

    EDIT: Just changed it and will commit now.
    EDIT2: Done
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2017
  14. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,940
    Location:
    Norway
    I think all map scripts considers what terrain the bonus is eligible for, so they will never be placed as they cannot be placed on any types of terrain.

    The only issue here is that mapscripts will add those resources to the list that it is going to run trough a lot of code when adding bonuses to the map.
    Each extra entry in that list will add a noticeable time delay to the bonus placement code.
    It will check if it can place the manufactured bonus for every tile on the map.
    That is what I fixed in rev. 9593.
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2017
  15. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    21,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    And the default is all terrains but the probability will be extremely low for placement.

    One time I was testing stuff I ended up with a lot of something I thought would be rare because the map script decided to place as many as possible in the empty deserts as I had the BONUSCLASS_GENERAL defined for it. All these have BONUSCLASS_MANUFACTURING or CULTURE so should not be considered as fillers.
     
  16. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,940
    Location:
    Norway
    You might be right that some mapscripts may try to place them, I don't know the code they all use.
    PW, PM, and World, the ones I know how work, would never place those bonuses on a map no matter what the iPlacementOrder is due to them having:
    <iConstAppearance>0</iConstAppearance>
    <Rands/>
    <iMinLandPercent>0</iMinLandPercent>
    etc.
     
  17. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    12,329
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    So with what DH posted and you quoted and with the changes you've made are we going to have vanilla BtS maps messing up now?
     
  18. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,940
    Location:
    Norway
    If vanilla mapscripts messed up manufacture bonuses before, my latest SVN change will have fixed that now.
     
  19. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    12,329
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    I was not sure because of DH's statement:
    Just trying to keep up.
     
  20. alberts2

    alberts2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,396
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    I found something odd inside the Animals_CIV4UnitInfos.xml. There are hundreds of units with xml like this.
    Code:
                <FeatureImpassableTypes>
                    <FeatureType>FEATURE_MANGROVE</FeatureType>
                    <FeatureType>FEATURE_SWAMP</FeatureType>
                </FeatureImpassableTypes>
                <FeaturePassableTechs>
                    <FeaturePassableTech>
                        <FeatureType>FEATURE_SAVANNA</FeatureType>
                        <PassableTech>NONE</PassableTech>
                    </FeaturePassableTech>
                </FeaturePassableTechs>
    That makes no sense at all because:
    1. FEATURE_SAVANNA isn't listed under FeatureImpassableTypes so putting it into FeaturePassableTechs does exactly nothing.
    2. Even if it would be listed under FeatureImpassableTypes it would make no sense at all without a PassableTech.
     

Share This Page