1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Quick Questions and Answers

  1. ezzlar

    ezzlar Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,619
    Yeah, it even supplies the adjacency bonus if you had no coal in the first place!
     
    Cerilis likes this.
  2. madeirabhoy

    madeirabhoy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    a bit confused about battering rams and siege towers. do they need to be adjacent to the city, or the attacking units? if its the city does standing in the sea count?

    basically I've got a city state emergency on the earth map and I think I can definitely do it as its quite far from Greece who've taken it, its just down the road from me, but its on the side of a mountain with the sea on the other side, and there's only one square either side that my troops can Stand on. so the only way I could use a battering ram is to place it on one space and then have a melee attacker hitting the other side?
     
  3. Zdarg

    Zdarg Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Both.
    You may, and probably should, place your melee unit and battering ram at the same tile.
     
    madeirabhoy likes this.
  4. madeirabhoy

    madeirabhoy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    thanks, didn't realise I could do that, that makes sense now.


    okay whilst I'm on a roll of questions only a beginner should be asking.

    Adjacency bonuses, when I choose my policies, theres ones like '+100 campus district adjacency bonuses'

    I know this will sound thick, but am I supposed to place my campuses so that they are adjacent to the next city's campus. so if you have two cities close together, the one on the left I put his campus on the right and the right hand city I put his on the left so they are adjacent tiles?
    or does it just mean the +1 and +2 that you see on the squares when you are choosing the location?
     
  5. madeirabhoy

    madeirabhoy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    another daft question, when you are sending traders, and theres an advantage to sending them somewhere which will create a road, how do you easily see which routes will create a road?
     
  6. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,612
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    It is the +1 or +2 that you see when deciding where to plant a district. Adjacency bonuses vary by district type. For campuses, you get +1 science yield for each adjacent mountain tile, +1 science for every 2 adjacent rainforest tiles (and it is only for 2 rainforest tiles; you don't get +0.5 for being adjacent to 1 rainforest tile), etc. -- it's all in the Civilopedia. You do get +1 science for every 2 adjacent districts, which includes adjacent districts that were built in another city, but you would likely sacrifice other potential adjacency bonuses if you tried too hard to have adjacent campuses in neighboring cities.
     
  7. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,612
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    As you select alternative trade routes in the trade-route-selection screen, a ghostly set of lines will appear on the map, showing you the path the trader will take -- if a road does not already exist on that path, a road will be built.
     
  8. madeirabhoy

    madeirabhoy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    but that's what I mean, how can I tell if the road does exist already or not?
     
  9. madeirabhoy

    madeirabhoy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    thanks much appreciated
     
  10. ezzlar

    ezzlar Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,619
    You see the roads on the map. If a certain tile is unclear you can hoover over it with the cursor, one line will read "road".
     
  11. smvalentine

    smvalentine Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    92
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA USA
    I have noticed that traders don't always build the road where the preview shows it. Same start and end cities of course, but a different route between them. This can be annoying if what you really want is a road through hills or other terrain to speed movements of your military along your borders.
     
  12. Jake1Santiago

    Jake1Santiago Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Thank you so much for sharing these links.
     
  13. Shorlin

    Shorlin Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    192
    12324343222.jpg
    Why aren't Malian cities at least 39 garrison strength? (Mandekalu Cav 49-10)
     
  14. alancsilver

    alancsilver Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    159
    Is there an easy way to see how many great people points are being generated per city?
     
  15. Basajaun

    Basajaun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Basque Country
    Does anybody know if the drawings in the undiscovered map, like the compass, the ship and such, have any meaning at all?
     
  16. tedhebert

    tedhebert King

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    They don't ;-)
     
  17. Basajaun

    Basajaun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Basque Country
    Ok thanks mate. I had a weird luck session then. I was traversing the sea with my armies to invade an enemy (actually 2) I was at war with, but who I didnt even know, or where he was. I was Polands ally on another continent, and Persia and Sumeria had joint war-ed her, so I decided to take a hike. While watching over the undiscovered map to make a decision about where to go, it happened in the end that the 2 compasses over the fog of war, were right on top of their capitals. Hence my curiosity.
     
    tedhebert likes this.
  18. madeirabhoy

    madeirabhoy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    when people talk about chopping trees down for extra production... if I have a city with loads of woods tiles. should I be doing things in two separate steps..

    e.g. two separate examples as the answer might be different.

    I want to build a farm on a tile that has woods. should the builder remove the woods first then separate move, build the farm? or does putting a farm in do that automatically?

    similarly but maybe not the same. if I go to build a campus on the square, should I be getting a builder to chop the trees first?
     
  19. Basajaun

    Basajaun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Basque Country
    The builder UI will not let you put a farm on top of woods or rainforest, you need to chop it first.

    About the buildings, you dont HAVE to chop it, but its advisable, harvesting that tile will accumulate an amount of production/food for the next build in your city. If you chop rainforest you get food and production, if you chop woods just production, if you chop marsh just food etc. The only requisite to put a building on things like rainforest is having the appropiate tech to HARVEST that resource, not farm. Example: you need mining to farm stone, but you need bronze working to "chop" it.
    If you put the building without chopping, you will lose forever that 1time production. Its a choice you will have to make, depending on your economy/availability of builders it might be worth it or not. Plan ahead if you want to use this mechanic, because builders take a significant amount of time/money at the start of a game.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2019
  20. ezzlar

    ezzlar Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,619
    I think there is something about your strongest melee and strongest ranged affecting defense value for melee and ranged. Which are separate.
     

Share This Page