1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Quick Questions and Answers

  1. Clan

    Clan Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Pocono mts
    Yeah, button is a pain....pan away at an angle.

    Turn on city strike turn blocker in settings and you'll get a notification.
     
  2. AntSou

    AntSou Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Messages:
    1,689
    How do I request my Allied to stop warring my Allied city state?

    I never had this happen to me before. I requested an alliance with Japan. He accepted, only I didn't notice he was at war with my Allied city state. The war doesn't automatically cancel, that's fine, but I should at least have the option to ask him to stop the war.

    Unless I'm missing something.
     
  3. robal1991

    robal1991 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Poland
    I'm pretty sure I have it turned on. I do get a notification about city bombard, but not that an encampment can bombard. :(
     
  4. Trav'ling Canuck

    Trav'ling Canuck Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2,938
    Gender:
    Male
    You're not missing anything. That functionality doesn't exist. Once you have an ally, you can't prevent them from taking out your City States.
     
    AntSou likes this.
  5. AntSou

    AntSou Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Messages:
    1,689
    Turns out my city state ally razed one of his cities, which happened to be the city I had the only international trade route with, and which I was relying upon for half of my gold income. Next turn he accepted peace with the city state.
     
    Icicle likes this.
  6. Trav'ling Canuck

    Trav'ling Canuck Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2,938
    Gender:
    Male
    And I guess you can't keep your City State from taking out your ally. And your trade route. :lol:
     
  7. Markus5

    Markus5 Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    683
    Location:
    Lino Lakes, MN, USA
    Is there any reason a ship can't enter a canal?
    I just captured a city with a canal the goes exactly where I want my ships to go. But, I can't enter it.
    One side of the canal is in my territory and the other is in enemy territory.
    I can enter another canal in an enemy city, which is useful.
    But, I can't understand why I can't enter my own canal.
     
  8. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,869
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    Is the canal tile pillaged?
     
  9. Markus5

    Markus5 Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    683
    Location:
    Lino Lakes, MN, USA
    Nope. I cannot see any reason for it. I'll pick it up tonight. Look carefully.
     
  10. rover6695

    rover6695 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    437
    With the latest expansion pack (Gathering Storm) if you eliminate a Civ, do you get their special powers?
     
  11. Markus5

    Markus5 Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    683
    Location:
    Lino Lakes, MN, USA
    So, after restarting the game, I can enter the canal.
    I should have tried that first.
     
  12. ezzlar

    ezzlar Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,722
    No, this has never been a feature.
     
  13. colony

    colony Slow Typer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    574
    Location:
    UK
    Just decided to get Civ6 Gold Edition and Gathering Storm in the Steam sale. I played a lot of Civ3 and 4, but was never able to really get into Civ5. Mainly posting to see if anyone has a link to some sort of introductory thread for returning Civ4 players handy - anything to summarise new features, any essential mods, what difficulty to start with, and so on. Not looking for anything detailed on the strategy side yet, I'll be testing things out for a few games first.
     
  14. Makavcio

    Makavcio Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    543
    In one of pre-patch youtube videos, something along the lines of "disbanding useless great people for a lump sum of faith" was mentioned. Or at least I'm pretty sure some something like that popped up.

    Is it possible to disband great people for faith, or is it just a figment of my imagination?
    If it is possible, how is it done?
     
  15. Kwami

    Kwami Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,914
    I think it's just your imagination.

    There was a somewhat similar change in the patch, though. If you can't earn a certain type of Great Person (e.g. because there aren't any more available), then Great People Points of that type are converted to Faith at a 1:1 ratio. Maybe you're thinking of that?
     
  16. Makavcio

    Makavcio Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    543
    Oh, yeah. That's most likely it. Thanks, mate.
     
  17. iammaxhailme

    iammaxhailme Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,641
    Eleanor's court of love ability states:

    Each Great Work in her cities causes foreign cities within 9 tiles to lose 1 Loyalty per turn. Any foreign city that leaves its civilization due to loss of Loyalty and is receiving the most Loyalty pressure from Eleanor instantly joins her empire, instead of becoming a Free City.

    Is this 9 tiles from the city housing the great work? Or 9 tiles from where the work itself is (i.e. a theater district or wonder)?

    Also, are relics great works?
     
  18. Bangau

    Bangau Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2019
    Messages:
    311
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    O
    It’s 9 tiles from the city centre. And if I remember correctly, her ability works for relics too. Have fun playing Eleanor! It takes a while for her ability to kick in, but when it does it’s very strong.
     
  19. rover6695

    rover6695 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    437
    If you build a city on top of a luxury or strategic resource, what happens?
    Can you still get that resource and trade it?
     
  20. iammaxhailme

    iammaxhailme Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,641
    You definitely still get it and can trade it. I don't think you will get yields from pantheons that require a camp/pasture/other improvement though
     

Share This Page