Quick Questions and Answers

Quick Questions and Answers

  1. wesplaysciv

    wesplaysciv Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    90
    In another thread, someone said that if you pay attention, your gold is being siphoned each turn (you aren't getting as much incrementally per turn as you think), but I haven't confirmed this myself.
     
  2. Markus5

    Markus5 Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    683
    Location:
    Lino Lakes, MN, USA
    I want to minimize, which I can do. Lots of ways. But, it is still running graphics at full speed. 90% GPU. And 25% CPU.
    Is there a good way to switch away from Civ and get resource usage reduced?
     
  3. smvalentine

    smvalentine Warlord Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA USA
    Switch to the "strategy view".
     
  4. Markus5

    Markus5 Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    683
    Location:
    Lino Lakes, MN, USA
    Yes, of course. Thanks.
     
  5. Shibooyeah

    Shibooyeah Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Messages:
    61
    I forward settled on a new continent because I needed a platform to espouse my religion, but it's losing loyalty. I have a governor there, a unit, and every policy card possible to provide loyalty, but it's currently still falling 1 point per turn. It's also at the stage where it just doesn't grow, so everything takes 5,000 turns to build. I've purchased granaries and all other food producing things possible. I'm in a dark age (let's talk about that another time). Is there anything I can do? What else provides loyalty?

    Question two: Am I missing the consequences or is starting a game by building settlers and holy sites, getting a golden age, and then just infinitely buying settlers and builders for free broken? Like, do you fall too far behind in science/culture when doing that for the first 100 turns?

    Moderator Action: Profanity deleted. Please help us keep the forum family friendly. Browd
    Please read the forum rules: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=422889
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 18, 2020
  6. ezzlar

    ezzlar Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,749
    Chop in food for population growth. Otherwise you can check out Victorias loyalty guides, it has some advice.

    At higher difficulties the AI will rush you if you play that strategy.
     
  7. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,314
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Is there a "Wait" button for units? It would sure be nice to be able to click "Wait" and have the game cycle to the next unit. For example, have a Legion wait until after the archers have gone, and then move him. I'm playing on a Nintendo Switch, if that makes a difference.
     
  8. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,936
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    Spacebar works.
     
  9. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,314
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I'm playing on a Nintendo Switch and have yet to locate the space bar.
     
    tedhebert likes this.
  10. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,936
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    Given the Switch's different interface from PC, you might try posting your question in the Switch subforum, where other Switch players are more likely to see your question.
     
    tiamats4esgares and Aabraxan like this.
  11. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,314
    Location:
    Arkansas
  12. Zdarg

    Zdarg Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    515
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Extremely awfully.
    Spacebar forces an unit to skip the turn, not to act later than others. Of course, when you activate the rest of units, you may found skipped one manually and give it an order, but it isn't what I call friendly interface.
     
  13. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,936
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    Yes, spacebar is equivalent to clicking "Skip Turn" on the unit menu.

    PC-specific, but simply clicking the "Unit Needs Orders" prompt will shift focus to the next unit without the "Skip Turn" effect.
     
    Aabraxan likes this.
  14. Alexis Layton

    Alexis Layton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    Unfortunately when you click it again or give that next unit orders it goes back to the previous unit rather than putting the skipped unit at the end of the queue, which I find quite annoying. You end up doing skip, orders, skip, orders, over and over.
     
  15. Markus5

    Markus5 Code Monkey

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    683
    Location:
    Lino Lakes, MN, USA
    Another quick question, I hope.
    Is there a way to turn down the volume of rock bands?
    Yeah, Yeah, rotten kids - Get off my lawn! ;-)
     
    Arithmion and Aabraxan like this.
  16. Arithmion

    Arithmion Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2020
    Messages:
    135
    Gender:
    Male
    Just wondering if warrior monks can condemn heretics. Unlikely to come up in a natural situation, I admit, but would actually make for an interesting incentive to pick them for a belief.
     
  17. Virdrago

    Virdrago Wandering

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    499
    Location:
    Canada
    Is the Soothsayer in the base game? That's all I want to ask. I haven't seen anyone answer when others have asked, and I can't open the game, and have been waiting for 6 hours for a message back or a patch from either 2k or Steam, so I'm stuck living vicariously through everyone else.

    I know they'd be in Apocalypse Mode.
     
  18. Hans Castorp

    Hans Castorp Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
  19. Virdrago

    Virdrago Wandering

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    499
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you.
     
  20. cain3456

    cain3456 King

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    So what’s in the new personas for Teddy & Catherine?
     

Share This Page