1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Quick Questions and Answers

  1. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,650
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Appears to be no demo, but you can buy the game from Steam and try it for (I believe) up to 2 hours and return it for a full refund. If that "test period" leads you to want to buy the game, you could then buy the game from a third party retailer if you can find a nice discount elsewhere.
     
  2. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,650
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Envoys are permanently assigned to a CS, and cannot be reassigned. So you will want to be sure about an assignment before you commit them to a particular CS. Note that you can "bank away" unassigned envoys for as long as you like. That can be particularly attractive if you're about to embark on overseas exploration and expect to meet several new CSs in a short period of time.
     
  3. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,650
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Builders can repair pillaged improvements from day 1. Because Legions have a charge that enables them to build a fort, they also have the ability to repair pillaged tiles, as long as they have a charge remaining.
     
  4. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,650
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    There appears to be no notification log (same as Civ V). On scouts, you can automate their search -- on the unit panel, one of the top buttons opens a subsidiary menu, where at lest two options appear -- delete unit (I don't recommend choosing that one) and automate. Presumably they put those in a subsidiary menu to avoid players inadvertently selecting those options.
     
  5. qadams

    qadams Bohemian

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Ruritania
    Ah, okay, thanks. I didn't know that.
     
  6. qadams

    qadams Bohemian

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Ruritania
    How do you turn the day/night cycle off? Is that an option only when setting up a game?
     
  7. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,650
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    You can go into game options at any time to turn on or off the day/night cycle. Pull down the main menu from the top right.
     
  8. xcrissxcrossx

    xcrissxcrossx Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    Indiana
    Is there any sort of penalty to changing Policies, or can you just do it as often as you like with no penalty?
     
  9. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,650
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    You can freely change policies on the turn when you unlock a new civic. you can change policies any other time, but it costs gold (the amount varies and is shown on the "Change Policies" screen).

    The only other thing to keep in mind is that you can also change governments when you unlock a new civic, but if you return to an old government form that you had previously selected, anarchy is the price you pay.
     
  10. Tuvok694

    Tuvok694 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    247
    Was this already answered, I can't find it here?
    This is driving me crazy, I already have "missed" barbarian units several times.
     
  11. João VIII

    João VIII Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Do new districts built next to old ones update the adjency bonus of the old one?
     
  12. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,650
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Yes, they do. Similarly, removing a tile improvement or terrain feature that provided an adjacency bonus (such as a mine next to an industrial zone or jungle next to a campus) will result in loss of that adjacency bonus.
     
  13. paulmclem

    paulmclem Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Scotland
    Watched very few videos in the run up to release so it's the first time I'm really seeing the game up close. As such what the heck is this:



    i.e. the red triangles. Is it some sort of Zone of Control indicator, or is it simply telling me those tiles are in range of the Barbs?
     
  14. RohirrimElf

    RohirrimElf Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,137
    My trade route does not expire. Keeps hanging at 12 turns for a long time. How do i solve this?
    Playing on epic speed
     
  15. sav

    sav Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    596
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    I'm glad it's not just me! :)
     
  16. Silverdawn

    Silverdawn Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    490
    If you enter those tiles with your scout you will be in the Zone of Control of the barbarian spearman.
     
    paulmclem likes this.
  17. baboon

    baboon Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I captured a city which has pillaged fishing boats. I can neither build fishing boats myself there nor repair it. I do have Sailing, the requirement for it. Any idea?
     
  18. Silverdawn

    Silverdawn Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    490
    The number next to the arrow in the trade routes list is the number of tiles from the starting city to the destination city center. The tooltip for it says "Total number of turns to complete this route." which can be interpreted several ways.

    The civilopedia page says trade routes last at least 20 turns on Standard speed. It also says it will not end until the trader returns to the origin city's center.

    So the way I interpret that is if you have a city that is 10 tiles away, the trade will go there and back in 20 turns and the trade route will end. If the city is 6 tiles away, it will go there and back, there and back for 24 turns and then end. If it is 15 tiles away, it will go there and back taking 30 turns and then ending.

    Spoiler :

    trade_routes.PNG

    trade_civilopedia.PNG
     
  19. RohirrimElf

    RohirrimElf Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,137
    Silverdawn,

    Thank you. Now it makes a bit more sense to me.
     
  20. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,540
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Turns out that it is TWO trips to the destination and back was the time spent on the above trade route.
     

Share This Page