1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Quick Questions and Answers

  1. Leyrann

    Leyrann Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    4,015
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    A city with river (or oasis or lake) has 5 housing.
    A city with coast has 3 housing.
    A city with neither has 2 housing.

    After an aquaduct, the river city has 7 housing, while the other cities would have 6 housing, assuming no other improvements.
     
    KyivanRusCivPlease likes this.
  2. Rosty K

    Rosty K King

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    961
    Gender:
    Male
    That has to be tested, of course, but I don't think there's a way for a city to lose a tile once it's been included, except for swapping it to another city or a culture bomb on the opposite side (also, what happens if Poland and Australia are neighbors, and one builds a fort to grab some tiles, while another one builds a pasture on the other side of the same tile? Later one wins as with fortresses in Civ 5?)...
     
    agonistes and Leyrann like this.
  3. Art Morte

    Art Morte Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    494
    Gender:
    Male
    The amphibious promotion, does it work? I had an Infantry unit with the "no penalty attacking from sea or river" promotion, but I did get the -10 penalty when attacked a city from sea. Are cities excluded or am I missing something here?

    Secondly, I think I've noticed that the same promotion lets my units cross rivers without losing movement points from crossing a river. No attacking involved. Is this intended or not?
     
  4. Rosty K

    Rosty K King

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    961
    Gender:
    Male
    IIRC it was the same in Civ5, so must be intended. Well, and that sort of makes sense.
     
  5. Art Morte

    Art Morte Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    494
    Gender:
    Male
    Overlapping trade deals for luxury resources. Two turns ago I've traded some tobacco for myself (even though I don't smoke, haha, haha, ah... eh) and another civ comes offering me another copy. Obviously I don't need it - but is there any other way but my own memory to know if I'm getting that luxury from someone already?
     
  6. Rosty K

    Rosty K King

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    961
    Gender:
    Male
    Not without closing the diplomacy screen :D
     
    Leyrann likes this.
  7. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,540
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Well you could keep a written record. I've actually made a spreadsheet for it on my iPad, with columns for who/when started/when it ends, and which luxury of course. Not that I ended up using it much. It just wasn't worth the effort, since my cities usually have +3 or more.
     
  8. yanraabe

    yanraabe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    "Spear of Fionn" +5 for units: This promotion seems to get lost once I upgrade a unit (like scout to explorer or warrior to swordsman).
    My question is: Is this normal? Is it due to the troublesome Nubia patch? Or to Moar units? (that was my 1st thought since it happened from Scout to Explorer, but it does the same thing with any unit.
    I don't think this happened before Nubia came out.
    I'm using the new "cqui" mod (community quick user interface) and the newest moar units (1.04).
     
  9. Leyrann

    Leyrann Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    4,015
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    That indeed happens. When you upgrade a unit, the game actually replaces it with a new unit with the same promotions. It is the same reason you can get a naval promotion from that one natural wonder after every time you upgrade your ship.
     
  10. Rosty K

    Rosty K King

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    961
    Gender:
    Male
    I think it even says somewhere there that Spear of Fionn is lost upon the upgrade.
     
  11. TurboJ

    TurboJ Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Finland
    Not sure if this has been covered before; Since last patch Civil Engineering makes battering rams obsolete. Does this mean your rams become obsolete after YOU have researched that social tech or after your target civ has?

    EDIT: It seems it's your social level that counts, not your enemy's.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2017
  12. OxydoReduction

    OxydoReduction Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    France
    If I update my game with the next update (believed to come next week), will I be able to load and play my saved game?

    I believe since last patch it's actually the Steel tech that obsoletes Battering Rams and Siege Towers. But I may be wrong.
     
  13. Leyrann

    Leyrann Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    4,015
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Maybe, maybe not. Mods are very likely not working anymore, vanilla games, well, you can't get a guarantee either way. If you're really worried, you can set the game to update only on launching and then making sure you don't have internet active when you launch it.

    And they forgot to change when support siege units become obsolete, so it's still Civil Engineering. Probably will be Steel after the patch though.
     
  14. Karpius

    Karpius King

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    623
    Looking for some recommendations....

    After some 600 hours on pre-Deluxe Edition Civ6 I am ready for some additional content.

    Should I purchase the Deluxe Edition, or purchase separate DLCs individually? Would I be missing out something if I did not get the Deluxe Edition?
     
  15. OxydoReduction

    OxydoReduction Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    France
    I'm pretty sure you can't upgrade to Deluxe Edition if you already have the game.
     
  16. Rosty K

    Rosty K King

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    961
    Gender:
    Male
    There is some "Deluxe edition special blah" in the list of my stuff in Steam, but I don't think it's in any way related to gameplay.
     
  17. Karpius

    Karpius King

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    623
    So I'm better off just buying the individual DLCs separately?
     
  18. CivLuvah

    CivLuvah Emperor

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,622
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    From Philippines, now Canada
    Just a question about the new religion lens for the new patch:
    The mini pop-up at the bottom of the city banner indicates the religious pressure. The one on the left is the pressure from the outside of the city and the right is the pressure coming from within the city. Is that right?
     
  19. Leyrann

    Leyrann Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    4,015
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I need a refresher, can ships move into coastal forts or is that only something that was possible in the Civ V mod I used in the past?
     
  20. gmnowels

    gmnowels Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    I bought the deluxe version on sale (look Google sales) and have been happy with it. Got for 50% off.
     

Share This Page