1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Single Player bugs and crashes v39 plus (SVN) - After the 20th of July 2019

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Thunderbrd, Jul 21, 2019.

  1. alberts2

    alberts2 Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,947
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    How are the lazy dll programmers to blame for design choices made by xml modders?
     
  2. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,153
    Location:
    Norway
    Yeah, sorting our messages in the opposite order may misrepresent the conversation slightly.
    I guessed that it may have been an oversight. TB informed us that it wasn't.
    End of story.

    I should have said "oversight" instead of "lazy dll programmers" though, as that was the essence of what I meant to say.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2019
  3. BTAxis

    BTAxis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    There are several references in the text to "Exotic Herbavours". This should be spelled "Exotic Herbivores".
     
  4. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,702
    Location:
    Poland
    We know.
    There is tons of typos, now that we have autocorrect tool we can fix them.
     
  5. Dionysis

    Dionysis Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks for looking into this billw2015. I just updated to SVN 11037 and tried again but got the same crash. I have attached my minidump from this attempt. The saved game file is still attached to message 1317 in this thread.
     

    Attached Files:

    billw2015 likes this.
  6. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    Loading your save in latest SVN (no mods) works fine for me, perhaps it is the modmod (I couldn't install it, it just broke the game loading entirely when I copied it in), or something to do with your settings. If you can zip your User Settings dir and put it on here as well that might help!
     
  7. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,540
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Which is another reason for me to abandon the project since you are auto-correcting them to the wrong spelling.
     
  8. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    What is wrong? I think almost no spelling corrections have been committed as of now. Also what project?
     
  9. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,702
    Location:
    Poland
    Well spelling liberty is indistinguishable from dyslexia:joke: :sarcasm:
    Also this tool uses American spelling/grammar/vocabulary.

    By the way I didn't commit any spelling corrections.
     
  10. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    No it doesn't (or at least for spelling, I don't know what American grammar is, I didn't think there is such a thing really, edit: some people claim there is a difference, my guess is that it hasn't really been apparent in years). It will initially filter against en-US, but then it will ask google, and if google doesn't give an auto-correct it doesn't report it as a misspelling. Any form of correct English should pass I think. Also of course the process is not really fully automated, it will just ask you if you want to accept the suggestions, or you can choose to globally ignore them, or enter your own.
     
    raxo2222 likes this.
  11. Dionysis

    Dionysis Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Here are my settings. Thanks again for looking into this - I seem to be getting random crashes even in new games and with a new UserSettings folder. I might try using one of the "standard" civs and see what happens.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    Did you already revert your SVN workspace back to default? If it isn't usersettings then the other difference we have is that you had some modmod installed.

    edit: I reproed the crash with your User Settings, I will debug it now.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2019
  13. gamer1978

    gamer1978 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I actually deleted the entire mod folder and made a new one with a fresh checkout and now its working great with the latest SVN version. Probably was a problem with reverting and back again and such and messed up the files.
     
  14. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    Actually it was the viewport settings I think. The crashes were related to tiles not being loaded, and on startup I got an assert about a city not being in the viewport. I wouldn't bother with viewport settings unless you are getting out of memory crashes. With the paging and dummy entities enabled you shouldn't have memory problems even in late game.
     
  15. irishhombre

    irishhombre Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    494
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rannoch, Perseus Veil
    Running SVN 11037, got this error. Screenshot will be uploaded, tell if you need any saves or logs. It did not crash, popped up about 3 or 4 times and then went away. So I guess nothing serious.
    Edit: Forgot to mention that the city's buildings on the map keep disappearing, not really a big issue since I don't really look at them.
    Spoiler Error Message :
    upload_2019-9-22_19-13-27.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2019
  16. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,153
    Location:
    Norway
    Probably a benign error caused by some rare conditions.
    Impossible to debug without a way to reproduce in a save, or without more information.
     
  17. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    If you mean when they get away from the middle of the screen the city disappears then yes that is the paging system functioning as designed. You can enable/disable paging in BUG settings, and change the settings for various parts of it in GlobalDefines.xml (the PAGE_IN_DIST* settings at the top). I set up the defaults to avoid a known crash, but they are quite aggressive.
     
  18. irishhombre

    irishhombre Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    494
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rannoch, Perseus Veil
    I am looking right at them when they disappear. They reappear for a split second if I build a special building, they then disappear again.
     
  19. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,540
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    There used to be a building called Bug Catcher. The subdued tarantula was able to build this building. It is was the only use for that unit besides the myth. This is now named Grasshopper Catcher and the subdued tarantula can't build it. Why? Also why is it limited to grasshoppers rather than all edible insects?

    Also the Snake Pit used to require the Snake Charmer but now it doesn't. Why? The Charmer represents the handling of snakes and the Pit the "farming" of snakes.
     
    Thunderbrd, Toffer90 and JosEPh_II like this.
  20. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    That definitely sounds like a bug then! Although possibly related to the other error you reported, need a save and your settings to debug it. I'm not going to be around for the next 10 days or so, maybe someone else can look.
     

Share This Page