1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Quick Questions and Answers

  1. MorGalad

    MorGalad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    I am a complete newbie so I apologize beforehand if my questions are stupid. I can't understand how exactly improvements work. According to the ingame wiki a hex with marble should give me one culture and I need to work it via a mine to get the bonus. However I get the culture even without the mine as long as I have a citizen working there, So the only purpose of a mine on such a resource is to get the amenity. Am I correct about that? IHowever I get bonus food if I build improvement on let's say wheat. And I wonder why these two hexes work in a different way. Correct me if I'm wrong but it seems to me that the bonus resources are added to the natural yields of each hex anyways and I get confused when do I get any extra resourse if I build improvement and when - not.
     
  2. grandad1982

    grandad1982 Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,552
    Are the amenities from entertainment districts global or local?

    Is there a demographics screen somewhere I'm missing?
     
  3. grandad1982

    grandad1982 Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,552
    Improving the marble should increase its production (or gold) I think.
     
  4. MorGalad

    MorGalad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Obviously the tiles with resources have natural bonuses anyways no mater whether you build something there or not. However I don't get the principle by which some improvements give me the extra resource besides the natural yield of a hex (wheat) and some don't(marble)
     
  5. CaptainPatch

    CaptainPatch Lifelong gamer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    832
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA, USA
    Probably a stupid question revealing my deteriorating eyesight. I've got some units that have earned Promotions, but I'm not seeing any button that brings up the list of available promotions that may be selected. This is irritating because the Civilopedia states that until a Promotion is selected, the unit will stop accruing XP.
     
  6. footslogger

    footslogger Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    Thailand
    I built a holy site and got a great prophet and religion, then made no effort to spread my religion and my cities were taken over by another religion. At that point I was unable to create missionaries for a belated attempt to restore my religion, so does that mean that it was effectively defunct? Ignore your own religion and it will cease to exist, is that it?
     
  7. Heiane

    Heiane Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Norway
    A couple of quick questions:

    - I can't find the Hall of Fame. Is it gone?!
    - I can't customize the names of civs and leaders (ie. my civ, and me). Am I missing something?
    - I can't seem to change the names of my citites. Again, am I missing something?
     
  8. grandad1982

    grandad1982 Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,552
    It does change the yield of the tile.

    I'll show you a screen from my current game.

    Spoiler Marble :


    So in this you can see a base grassland hill gives 2 food 1 production. Marble as a bonus resource gives you 1 culture on the tile so its now 2 food 1 production and 1 culture. The quarry improvement gives a +1 production so the end result is as you see it in the screen shot 2 food 2 production 1 culture as well as giving you access to 4 more amenities to use.
     
  9. grandad1982

    grandad1982 Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,552
    Yes. Once its gone from the map its gone. Without a city to recruit missionaries etc or exert religious pressure there is no way for it to exist or spread from right?
     
  10. Akbarthegreat

    Akbarthegreat Angel of Junil

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,751
    Location:
    Erebus
    I found the tutorial to be pretty crap. It explained the basic stuff I already knew, not the stuff new in 6. Is there any other tutorial I can read/watch which explains only those features new to 6?
     
  11. grandad1982

    grandad1982 Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,552
    Its a button in the units orders bar, tink its shaped like a rectangle or something. hover the mouse and you will find,
     
  12. wxstall

    wxstall Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    My question is about preventing another Civ's religion victory.

    Without a religion of my own, I feel powerless to prevent another Civ from winning a religious victory. In my current game, I was late to the party for religion and didn't get a great prophet, and therefore no religion of my own. India has converted 4 civs, including mine, to Hinduism. What can really be done to stop them from converting the other 2 civs and winning a religious victory? Obviously declaring war and wiping them off the map is an option, but I'm not focused on military and they're located on the other side of the planet. I could never fund/execute a large enough war to stop them, not to mention every other civ would turn against me due to the warmonger penalty.

    On a side note, why would I ever want to help spread another Civ's religion when my cities have been converted?!? I now have the option to purchase disciples with faith to further help India cruise to victory.... great. Is there really a scenario where this is useful? I suppose if the religion was a minority and you are trying to maintain a religious stalemate between 2 opposing civs this might be helpful, but seems like a waste of resources to basically be helping other civs get ahead.

    Am I just totally missing something with religion here?
     
  13. Brackenspore

    Brackenspore Prince

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    599
    Someone knows the list of hidden agendas?
     
  14. oedali

    oedali King

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    840
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Cyclopedia says "religions units can heal if they are on or adjacent to a holy site in a city that follows their religion". I am finding this is not the case - I am sitting on the holy site of a city state that follows my religion but my apostles are not healing.. is this a bug or intended?
     
  15. delez

    delez Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    hi
    sorry but now it's impossible to personalize the leader name or own civilization? thanks
     
  16. ludovit8

    ludovit8 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    RELIGION QUESTION.
    Situation:
    - my neighbour is a founder of religion Islam, and spread out his religion also to my cities
    - i got GP later, so I can set up my own religion... but I see there option to have not only "my religion" but I could choose foreign reglion
    (I didnt try choose foreign religion, so I dont know if I am able to to it...)
    - my neighbor will be conquest by me soon :)

    Possible steps:
    - choose my own/new religion and starting spread it to all my cities, later I will conquest that neighbor and I will spread there my religion too. But I will need a lot of missionaries!
    - choose that different religion, my neigbour's religion, so I will not be a FOUNDER !. Use it as my religion, cos I will later conquer him and his holy city too.

    Questions:
    - can I use by GP not only make own religion but set up another, already existing religion as my religion too ? (i will not be founder ok... no prob)
    - if i can do this, after I conquest founder civs, all his cities will I be founder of that foreign religion ?

    - what I lost if I am not founder of religion but founder CIV is dead?
     
  17. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,650
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Renaming your leader or civ is not in the game.
     
  18. Ranbir

    Ranbir Civ junkie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    598
    Location:
    Herts
    Have I sabotaged myself by coming to discover late game resources are under my districts that I built 2000 years ago?
     
  19. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,650
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I see you've also started a thread in Bug Reports about this. That is the place for reports like yours. Thanks. :goodjob:
     
  20. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,650
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    No, to address that circumstance, you will see that the district has automatically connected that resource for you, so it is usable to build units that require that resource or, if you have excess copies of that resource, to trade that resource. You don't get the tile yield from any resource sitting under a district (you never get tile yields from district tiles), but the resource is automatically yours.

    I should note two things:

    1. This also applies to wonders that you build on a tile that is later revealed to have a resource on it.

    2. This only applies to resources that are not yet revealed when you are building your district or wonder. If you can already see the resource (like horses at the start of the game), you cannot build a district or wonder on that tile (and you can't harvest or bulldoze that tile to remove the resource).
     
    Unikornus likes this.

Share This Page