1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Quick Questions and Answers

  1. Arvedui

    Arvedui Great Prophet

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Messages:
    262
    Location:
    Brazil
    Could someone clarify me on a doubt, 'cause I don't understand religion in this iteration 100%... If I don't found a religion, but get religions from abroad, what can I buy with my faith currency and how? Thanks in advance. :)
     
  2. Oleary

    Oleary OF Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Michigan
    You can spend the currency on great people for sure. Open up the great people tab and at the bottom is purchase price in gold and religion. IIRC, that total goes down as your normal points go up so keep checking back if you're close. I'm at work, so it's possible there are other things as well.
     
  3. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,893
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    If you also have a temple in a city that has a majority religion, you can faith buy any religious building that is associated with that religion (but you can only have one such building in a given city, so the Civ V gambit of arranging to get different religions in your cities so you could buy mosques, pagodas, monasteries,etc. in every city doesn't work in Civ VI). To see what you can buy with a religion, go to the Religion screen (button above the World Tracker - top left of the screen) and browse the beliefs that religion has.
     
  4. player1 fanatic

    player1 fanatic Fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Also, as far as I can see, you can not get inquisitors.
     
  5. contrasupra

    contrasupra Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Female
    I have a few small questions:

    1. I'm playing a culture game as England right now and I'm confused about their unique ability regarding archaeological museums. It says that every archeological museum has 6 slots (instead of 3), which are automatically themed when full, and that each museum can support 2 archaeologists. But my archaeologists seem to each have 6 charges, meaning that one of them can fill up the museum by himself. If that's the case, what is the purpose of the second archaeologist? Is it just so you have two guys running around and can fill it up faster?

    2. I have a few questions about apostles. I have noticed that when they are first born, they have an available promotion immediately, but I seem to always have different options of what promotion to give them. Is it just that new apostles get a semi-random initial boost, or am I doing something that results in these different options (and receiving the promotion at all)? Also, what determines an apostle's strength? I had a game as Rome where Egypt was sending apostles into my land. Both of ours were equally promoted, but sometimes they seemed evenly matched and sometimes hers absolutely destroyed mine (like a single Egyptian apostle would almost take out mine in one hit and take very little damage herself). Did she just happen to grab a lucky early promotion, or is it somehow tied to the strength of our respective religions?

    3. What results in more envoys/trade routes/spies? I know you slowly get envoys over time, but sometimes it seems like I randomly get one even though I just got one a few turns before. Ditto trade routes. And I never have any idea how many spies I'm allowed to have...
     
  6. Arvedui

    Arvedui Great Prophet

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Messages:
    262
    Location:
    Brazil
    Thanks, guys. And I didn't even know about patronage, I was only getting my great people from points, now I took a better look at the great person screen and noticed that I can also buy with money and faith.... :)
     
  7. contrasupra

    contrasupra Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Female
    Oh yeah, I have one other question - I see from earlier in this thread that there is no deal history screen. I would love to see my deals, because I have a sneaking suspicion that I have made deals eons ago that never actually ended. I had a war with France and in the peace deal she granted me copies of many luxuries, including silver. I have one silver in my borders, so it was a duplicate, but I took it anyway. Now, a good hundred turns later, I still have two silvers (I notice this every time an AI asks me to trade it) and I can't figure out why. My Resources screen only shows the one copy I have in my borders, and I'm not getting it from a city state.

    Also, on the city state screen, where it shows you the resources you get for being suzerain, it includes bonus resources like cattle and wheat. What benefit do I get from a city state's wheat?
     
  8. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,574
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    The city state Buenos Aires makes each bonus resource provide +1 amenities.
     
  9. contrasupra

    contrasupra Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Female
    I'm pretty sure Buenos Aires is an Aztec city in this game, lol. They were on the other continent and I never even met it as a city state.
     
  10. Brutus2

    Brutus2 Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    522
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Philadelphia, USA
    1. Trade routes are supposed to boost tourism with the civ you send the trade route to however, on the trade overview screen I can see that I have trade routes to every other civ but only some of them have the icon that indicates tourism boost while some other civs it is greyed out with a tool tip that says "send a trade route to this civ to boost tourism" but as I said, I do have trade routes with every civ. So is there some other requirement to get the tourism boost?

    2. How do medics work? Is it a passive ability to automatically heal X amount to all surrounding units at end of turn? I don't see any activated ability.
     
  11. contrasupra

    contrasupra Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Gender:
    Female
    It was speculated on the Civ subreddit that those numbers are actually a change over time, not a flat representation of your relationship. The reddit thread is here: https://www.reddit.com/r/civ/comments/59bxyj/civ_vi_breakthrough_on_understanding_diplomacy/
    and now that I'm looking at it again, it looks like the information actually originally came from a post on this board, located here: http://forums.civfanatics.com/threa...casus-belli-doesnt-work.600669/#post-14522818
     
  12. Aek1924

    Aek1924 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    How can I see a list of all my units? Can't seem to figure it out.
     
  13. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,893
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    Select any unit. Click on that unit's name and up will pop a list of all your units (Civilian, religious and military). Click on a unit you want to see and that unit will be selected.
     
  14. Aek1924

    Aek1924 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks!:)
     
  15. killmeplease

    killmeplease Mk Z on Steam

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,794
    Location:
    Samara
    can we bulldozer wonders?
     
  16. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,893
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rural Vermont
    No, you cannot.
     
  17. Sic

    Sic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    You know your UI is bad when players have to look at your damn code to figure out how things work. What an absolute mess.
     
  18. manu-fan

    manu-fan Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,005
    How can you tell if you've already improved a tile or not? It doesn't actually say on mousing over, does it?
     
  19. Silverdawn

    Silverdawn Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    490
    The tile should look different than before like you'll see a farm or a mine on it. The improvements have different graphics also if it is active (citizen is working it) or not. e.g green fields for farm vs. yellow fields.

    The tooltip will mention the improvement and the tiles yield below the dotted lin. For instance:
    Mine
    1 Food
    5 Production

    And if you look in strategic view, tiles with improvements will have farms, mines, etc.
     
  20. manu-fan

    manu-fan Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,005
    Ahh thanks. Being able to see the difference visually is what I'm having trouble with. I'll check out the strategic view. Here's the situation. I get a new builder. I go to myself, did I already improve that Cotton? I mouse over and don't know if it's yields are more than base or not.
     

Share This Page