1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Quick Questions and Answers

  1. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    A unique Luxury provides 4 amenities, limited to 1 per city -- full stop, end of story. Extra copies of a luxury provide no more amenities, no matter how many cities you have. Extra luxuries are only good for two things: (1) to be traded to another civ in exchange for whatever you might want or need (including perhaps another unique luxury that will provide 4 amenities) or (2) to serve as back-ups or hedges for the risk that your first copy of that luxury might get pillaged, or be located in a city that is conquered by another civ, or otherwise lost through some unimaginable calamity.

    During the pre-release period, the community convinced itself (on zero evidence, but oodles of wishful thinking) that a second copy of a luxury could provide 4 more amenities (for cities 5 through 8), that a third copy could provide another 4 amenities (for cities 9 through 12), etc. All of that was incorrect, and remains incorrect.
     
    Lunchmoney likes this.
  2. Zaius

    Zaius Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    The help screen for Ziggurat says at the top that you get +1 Culture if next to a river and on the right side it says under "Traits" "+1 Culture (Requires Natural History)". Is the last bit on the right a mistake? I just built a Ziggurat next to the river at the beginning of a game (I'm not even close to Natural History) and yet I got the culture bonus.
     
  3. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    A corps is two of the same units (two field cannon, two infantry, etc.), while an army is three of the same units. A corps or army can still form an escort formation with a support unit, civilian unit or religious unit.

    When a corps or army is formed (it is one-way formation, by the way --can't be un-formed), the entire corps or army gets the promotions of the most highly promoted component. So, if you have, for example, 2 well-promoted "veteran" musketmen and two unpromoted "rookie" musketmen and want to form 2 corps, you are far better off having each "rookie" musketmen form a corps with one of the veterans -- both resulting corps will get the promotions of the two veterans. If you instead merged the two veterans together, and then merged the two rookies together, the veteran corps would have just one set of veteran promotions and the rookie corps would have none.
     
    Unikornus and Lunchmoney like this.
  4. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    When you research Natural History (a late game civic), your Ziggs will generate an additional +1 culture on top of their default +1 culture from being next to a river. So a river-side Zigg will eventually generate +2 culture.
     
  5. Zaius

    Zaius Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    But why doesn't it say that in the civics tree or help screen for Natural History?
     
  6. benedicto

    benedicto Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    But if that's the case, why am I able to trade more than one copy of a luxury? Do the AI players not realise they are redundant?
     
  7. Sic

    Sic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    What modifies the envoy threshold of influence?

    For instance, when I upgraded from Oligarchy to Monarchy, the threshold jumped from 150 to 225. In the mouse-over information in the Government screen it says that the threshold is 100 for Chiefdom, 100 for Oligarchy and 150 for Monarchy? Is this simply incorrect, or are there other things influencing the threshold?
     
  8. Brianstorm

    Brianstorm Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    177
    Does the Pantanal count as a Marsh for the Lady of the Reeds Pantheon? It says "appears as Marsh" but not sure what that means.
     
  9. SheckyS

    SheckyS Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    102
    Yeah, the in-game info has a lot of misleading, missing, and just plain wrong information. Along the same lines, the Eureka boost for Archery says "Kill a unit with a slinger." But this only work if your slinger attacks. If your slinger kills a unit while defending, you don't get the boost.

    A couple of things I have noticed.

    First, the promotion button will not display unless the unit has remaining movement. This makes sense.

    Also, the button will not show up if the unit current has pending movement orders. So if you order a unit to do a move that will take more than one turn, you have to explicitly cancel that unit's movement first before you can promote it.

    This drove me nuts because I'd get a notification on the right-hand side that I had a unit with a promotion and I'd click the button and the game would take me to that unit, but there was no button.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 25, 2016
  10. VTMatt

    VTMatt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    A couple quick questions:

    1). Are multiplayer games all "play the whole game in one sitting", or is there an online mode where each person takes their turn whenever they're on, without needing to play all or most of the game at once? I'd love to play online occasionally, but my internet connection cuts out every few minutes, because rural Vermont has less reliable internet connectivity than my turn 1, 4000bc pop 1 civ.

    2). Is there an option I'm missing to make the game automatically go to the action I can see on the map between turns while the AI plays? Ill often have a few different fronts I'm keeping my eye on, and I can't manually see them all in "real time", would be nice to automatically view AI combat and troop movements.

    Thanks!
     
  11. sav

    sav Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    596
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Is there a leaderboard? Just finished my first game, but can't find a leaderboard where I can rank my follow-up games.
     
  12. Akbarthegreat

    Akbarthegreat Angel of Junil

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,747
    Location:
    Erebus
    Is there any advantage to making farms next to fresh water?

    That video was exactly the kind of help I was looking for. Thanks :D
     
  13. Biz_

    Biz_ Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    482
    why can't i build a campus surrounded by the mountains (it would get +6):

    campus.jpg

    looks like need bronze working is the most likely answer. the autosave got deleted unfortunately and i can't check
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2016
  14. Iron Angel

    Iron Angel Classified

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Norway
    Quick question from one that has never played a Civilization:

    How does the airplanes function? Can they only go 'so far' from the landing strip? I.e you are not able to move them around freely on the map unless they are in the vicinity of an airport?
     
  15. Mathias Rex

    Mathias Rex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Can melee ships conquer coastal cities like in Beyond Earth?
     
  16. Iron Angel

    Iron Angel Classified

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Norway
    Yes.
     
  17. Mathias Rex

    Mathias Rex Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Thanks!
     
  18. numaru7

    numaru7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Bucharest
    Don't you need pop 3 in a city for your first district?
     
  19. Iron Angel

    Iron Angel Classified

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Norway
    No worries. I found out that you could myself by accident. Was going to attack the city and did not see that I used a melee ship. My game CTD however, but that happens on this save whenever I try to conquer a city, and is off-topic.
    This is my first Civilization game ever and just happy that I am able to help others with the little experience I have.
     
  20. Akbarthegreat

    Akbarthegreat Angel of Junil

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,747
    Location:
    Erebus
    If air combat is similar to 4 and 5 (which I'm assuming it is, not read anything related to the contrary), air units cannot enter regular tiles the way all other units can. They will be stationed in certain tiles (the airport or the city center, I'm not very sure), and can attack/intercept units on each turn within their range (which varies for different units).

    Check if barbarian outposts have horses nearby, and eliminate those first. Those pesky horse units are produced quite fast.
    And in my experience, at the higher difficulties you should prioritize settlers when you see a good spot near you (sidelining non-urgent building if necessary). If you manage to grab all the great city spots, you should be halfway to victory :) (Well not quite, but you get the idea).
     

Share This Page