1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

UNITS: Japanese Units Pack

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Unit Graphics' started by Dom Pedro II, Dec 12, 2003.

  1. Kal-el

    Kal-el Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    4,827
    Location:
    Washington DC
    excellent!
     
  2. Grey Fox

    Grey Fox Master of Points

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    8,726
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    Very nice units.

    The Samurai Cavalry and The Meiji Riflemen have now found a home in the Graphics Flavour mod ;)

    Don't know where to use the musketman though, as they Arqubusier that came with PTW is almost perfect for that in my mod. But in other scenarios I can see a use.

    Good units, and btw, listen to what Redking said there a few posts up! :)
     
  3. Xen

    Xen Magister

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    16,004
    Location:
    Formosa
    dose this mean that the Roman unit yuour working on might come out eventually ;)
     
  4. Supa

    Supa Out of Cheese Error

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    Belgium
    >> Don't know where to use the musketman though, as they Arqubusier that came with PTW is almost perfect for that in my mod. But in other scenarios I can see a use.

    Just add a new unit between the arquebusier and the rifleman, coming with Military Tradition. At least, it's what I've done.
     
  5. Grey Fox

    Grey Fox Master of Points

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    8,726
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    My grapchics flavour mod doesn't add any new units. Only graphics for the existing ones.
     
  6. Kindred72

    Kindred72 Vampire

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    609
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Thats Good! Take a look back and see how much I got ripped on my first few units!:D Yours are much better than mine were.
     
  7. Dom Pedro II

    Dom Pedro II Modder For Life

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,811
    Location:
    Exit 16, New Jersey
    Yes. Yes, it does. I've got the Fulminata and the CnP Pack to do before I can truly rest... :lol: btw, I've been watching your avatar rotation pretty closely the last few days and am amused... :D

    Grey Fox: If you can't find a place for the Japanese Musketeer in your mod, that is fine. I am honored that you have included my other units. :)
     
  8. Xen

    Xen Magister

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    16,004
    Location:
    Formosa
    I'm glad my choices in my avatar (and the title as well i hope ;) are making people have a slightly lightend up day :)

    though I dont know what I might do after this.. I knda like the title "rageing lesbian", but I like this one too, and no clue what an avatar might be....
     
  9. ShiroKobbure

    ShiroKobbure Still modding Civ3

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,550
    Location:
    Here
  10. Rob (R8XFT)

    Rob (R8XFT) Ancient Briton Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,867
    Location:
    Leeds (UK)
    Ta very much! :goodjob:

    I particularly like the musketeer. It's nice to have good quality flavour units.
     
  11. TopGun

    TopGun 258 kills

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,524
    Location:
    Eastern Seaboard
    Purty dang cool, them Jap units...
     
  12. ShiroKobbure

    ShiroKobbure Still modding Civ3

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    5,550
    Location:
    Here
  13. Supa

    Supa Out of Cheese Error

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    Belgium
  14. gorn

    gorn quick & merciful

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Gotta agree with Supa ... these units are not centered. It's a shame, because they are otherwise absolutely beautifull.

    Someone gave me a smart-ass reponse once in another thread and told me to download graphics tools and do it myself. I appreciate the advice & might take them up on it one of these days - in the meantime, I am trying to offer some constructive criticism to the maker. Most of the folks making gorgeous units like these are usually open to it.
     
  15. tjedge1

    tjedge1 Writer of writerly things

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,682
    Location:
    Central Texas
    :thumbsup::thumbsup:
     
  16. Dom Pedro II

    Dom Pedro II Modder For Life

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,811
    Location:
    Exit 16, New Jersey
    I didn't test them in-game yet admittedly. Normally, I do. And it's weird because I keep having to move my units way up. I really don't understand why it happens... :confused: But since other people don't have to do it, I can only assume its something in my unit-making process.

    But isn't there a way to alter the alignment in the file that text file with all of the animations?

    I just don't get why my animations always seem to come out off-center... :confused:
     
  17. Kinboat

    Kinboat Conan the Librarian

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,079
    Location:
    I'm home, where are you?
    Yeah... If you open the FLC in FLICster and extract it as the 8 directional FLCs it also creates an INI file that you can then edit the x, y-axis settings... Then you open the INI in FLICster and it will ask you if you wish to recombine them. After I started making my own models I standardized my frame size and just did this once. Then I just load one of the first FLCs and rename it for my new FLCs... I don't think I've gotten position complaints since I either I got it right or people aren't paying attention :)
     
  18. Dom Pedro II

    Dom Pedro II Modder For Life

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,811
    Location:
    Exit 16, New Jersey
    You got it right.


    EDIT: I think I must have missed something though... so you make the storyboards in SBB, then copy and paste them into a FLICster storyboard... and then what? You make the FLC and then break it down again into the 8 directional FLCs, paste in the old INI and then compile it again? Or is there a way to go straight to 8 directional FLCs from the storyboard? For some reason it says the Civ3 FLC produces 8 Files, but it doesn't seem to... :confused:
     
  19. Dom Pedro II

    Dom Pedro II Modder For Life

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,811
    Location:
    Exit 16, New Jersey
    Ok, I'll fix the alignment issue with FLICster and then repost. Hopefully, I can take care of that tomorrow.
     
  20. Kindred72

    Kindred72 Vampire

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    609
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Dom, You're not the only one. I have to raise my units way up when I'm done too. here's how I do it.

    Create the unit flic as normal.
    Open the flic again in flicster and export the 8 directional flics into a file.
    This will create an INI file. open it with wordpad or whatever, and edit the y-axis. I am using Kinboats setup and I always subtract 23 from the y number (i think)

    Open the INI in flicster and it will ask if you want to combine them into a new flic.

    say yes.

    whala! fixed.
     

Share This Page