1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Insects MOD (Discussion & unit preview)

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Creation & Customization' started by Supa, Feb 20, 2006.

  1. 7ronin

    7ronin 海軍少佐

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,990
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Diego, Baja Norte
    You had us worried for a while. :sad: A game idea this unique and original really deserves to see the light of day. :D
     
  2. Supa

    Supa Out of Cheese Error

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    Belgium
  3. Supa

    Supa Out of Cheese Error

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    Belgium
  4. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Mysterious Jungle Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13,238
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
    I can't wait to try this.
     
  5. Stormrage

    Stormrage Ever Present Taskmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10,573
    Location:
    behind the scenes
    Following with interest :scan:
     
  6. Goldflash

    Goldflash Grumpy Old Man

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,752
    Location:
    Land of King James
    Supa, do you havge plans to release some fo the units you made for this mod to the Public?
     
  7. Lord Malbeth

    Lord Malbeth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,837
    Location:
    Tower of Fornost
    I'm no expert on insects, but this mod seems like a cool idea. Is there anything I could do to help?
     
  8. Supa

    Supa Out of Cheese Error

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    Belgium
    Goldflash > I'll probably release a small unit pack before I release the mod. But most of the units will only be released with the mod.

    Lord Malbeth > Nothing right now.. But perhaps some maps when most of the mod will be finished ?
     
  9. odintheking

    odintheking Lighting the way...

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    4,588
    Location:
    Stickin it to the man
    So, uh, are you taking any game ideas from SimAnt to do in this mod? (giant foot, lawnmower, ant-hole cities, etc.)
     
  10. Supa

    Supa Out of Cheese Error

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    Belgium
  11. Raw is War?

    Raw is War? Soul Reaper

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    805
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    Bump! :bump:

    Hows this coming along?
     
  12. Nwoll

    Nwoll Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    325
    Wow, I don't know how I missed this thread, but I hope you're still working on this Supa. This mod is a great idea! As for terain, there is a flowers terain out there that replaces jungle. I think it's in one of the urban terrain downloads.
     
  13. Supa

    Supa Out of Cheese Error

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    Belgium
    Not much work has been done since July and I won't work on it before September.

    Yes, I am. :)

    Nah, I'll keep the flowers as resources for the Bees. I'm still tinkering about the terrains.. The way I'm going for the moment will pretty much restrict the mod to pre-designed maps.
     
  14. beboy

    beboy Ut tensio sic vis

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    By the Magtogoek
    ok, my interest in this post has nothing to do with my actual avatar... :mischief: but i think it would be nice to allow the bees to build an equivalent for "airfield", as a reference to their efficient way of communication and orientation (i.e. the bee dance).

    Note: I haven't scroll through all the thread; so i don't know if this idea has already been proposed..
     
  15. Supa

    Supa Out of Cheese Error

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    Belgium
  16. beboy

    beboy Ut tensio sic vis

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    By the Magtogoek
    mmmhh.. I didn't see it that way.. I was more thinking in a fast way to travel, more efficient thant most of the other insects. But maybe you are right it will be too much similar to teleportation...

    But at least common bees should be able to build colonies on tiles with ressources. special ability?? anymay these are just some ideas..
     
  17. Supa

    Supa Out of Cheese Error

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    Belgium
    And that's exactly what I'm doing ! :) The bees will be able to build colonies, mimicking their 'dance' in Civ-3 gameplay mecanics.
     
  18. Gojira54

    Gojira54 The folly of Man

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    2,159
    Location:
    Monster Island black-sand beaches
    I would love to see a Praying Mantis....
     
  19. Supa

    Supa Out of Cheese Error

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    3,663
    Location:
    Belgium
  20. CornPlanter

    CornPlanter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,066
    Location:
    Lithuania
    I havent read every single post here so probably this idea is already proposed, but...

    Those species relies heavily on the queen. "I am the state", according to Louis XIV. I'd suggest making this game mass regicide (or how is it called when you have many king units?) and give the Palace building (probably already renamed to Nest? :) ) ability to produce Queen unit every n'th turn. This would represent kinda breeding. If every Queen is killed, civilization dies, because there is no intelligence whatsoever left, as simple as that. I know that contradicts a bit with building settlers, because they too represent breeding, but it's just a game anyway :)

    Note that this concept is game tested and known issue is the following: AI keeps all it's king units at the capital city (city which produces them actually), while it's supposed to move them to different locations according to "dont keep all the eggs in the same basket" wisdom :)
    Also, you must choose "none" in the game editor for "king unit" and place king unit manually. Otherwise civ will start with several queens already. If you choose "regicide" the civ will start with one queen but it doesn't matter how many queens does it have later - it will loose the game as soon as one of them is killed.
     

Share This Page